Soundtrack Information

Requiem for a Dream

Requiem for a Dream

Elektra / Nonesuch (79611-2)

Release Date: September 26, 2000

Performed by
Kronos Quartet

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (1 user)

Track Listing

1. Summer Overture 2:36
2. Party 0:28
3. Coney Island Dreaming 1:04
4. Party 0:36
5. Chocolate Charms 0:25
6. Ghosts of Things to Come 1:33
7. Dreams 0:44
8. Tense 0:37
9. Dr. Pill 0:42
10. High on Life 0:11
11. Ghosts 1:21
12. Crimin' & Dealin' 1:44
13. Hope Overture 2:31
14. Tense 0:28
15. Bialy & Lox Conga 0:45
16. Cleaning Apartment 1:25
17. Ghosts-Falling 1:11
18. Dreams 1:02
19. Arnold 2:35
20. Marion Barfs 2:22
21. Supermarket Sweep 2:14
22. Dreams 0:32
23. Sara Goldfarb Has Left the Building 1:17
24. Bugs Got a Devilish Grin Conga 0:57
25. Winter Overture 0:1
26. Southern Hospitality 1:23
27. Fear 2:26
28. Full Tense 1:04
29. The Beginning of the End 4:28
30. Ghosts of a Future Lost 1:50
31. Meltdown 3:55
32. Lux Aeterna 3:54
33. Cone Island Low 2:13
  Total Album Time: 50:33


by James Barry
May 10, 2003
[4 / 5]

Those of you seeking symphonic, heavily thematic scores, look elsewhere. Judging from his track record - most notably on Darren Aronofsky's Pi, and his present Requiem For a Dream - Clint Mansell is not your man. This easily overlooked atmospheric gem is scored for five musicians - namely the modern/minimalist champions the Kronos Quartet, with Mansell himself on electronics.

There's not much that one can elaborate on from there, really. The main theme from the score is a very sparse three-chord progression, repeated often enough to become engrained in your mind after the opening "Summer Overture". This is followed right off by "Party," a motif evoking Mansell's electronic work on Pi. The other theme - and my favorite of the lot - is the "Ghosts" theme, which features an almost chorale-like electronic line accompanying eerie strings.

All in all, with the exception of some rather creepy "tense" music in the final third of the album, this score is very subtle, rather quiet, and always very moody. A fine album to have on while reading or working, but don't let it's role as "furniture music" fool you; even without your full attention, this is a score that will stick with you.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!