Soundtrack Information



Chapter III Records (COM 0110)

Release Date: February 23, 1999

Conducted by Nicholas Dodd

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (1 user)

Best of the Year

Best of 1999: Best Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. The Projector
2. The House
3. The Call
4. The Film
5. Cindy
6. Missing Persons
7. What Yould You Choose
8. Hollywood
9. Unsee
10. Dance With The Devil
11. The Third Man
12. Loft
13. No Answer
14. I Know All About...
15. 366 Hoyt Ave.
16. Scene Of The Crime
17. Machine
18. Rainstorm
19. Home
20. Dear Mr. Wells
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Audio Samples


by Dan Goldwasser
January 27, 2000
[4 / 5]

8MM is a dark film about a private investigator (Nicholas Cage) who is hired to find out whether an 8mm film showing a brutal murder is real, or an elaborate fabrication. His search takes him into the seedy back-ally world of S&M porn and allows him to confront some truly disturbed people. Written by Andrew Kevin Walker (Seven) and directed by Joel Schumacher (Falling Down), the film has a low-saturation look, a gritty feel, and some very unique music by Mychael Danna (The Sweet Hereafter, The Ice Storm).

Danna's score takes a very unique approach to the material on the screen. I can't seem to figure out why, but this is a score with a huge Moroccan influence. Utilizing the traditional woodwind instruments of the area, and a lot of vocal talent, this score feels unlike anything one would expect for a dark movie like 8MM. Interestingly enough, however, it works amazingly well in the film. The use of traditional-sounding themes combined with occasional synth elements, and plenty of atmosphere culminate in a very unique audio experience. This score works well on its own, as well as in the film (a double bonus)!

The first track ("The Projector") has some background hisses and pops, which creates the effect of a film projector running in the background as the main theme plays out. Track 8 ("Hollywood") stands out as a prime example of this Moroccan flare. The dissonance in the woodwinds and the vocal "shouting" almost places one in the midst of a bazaar. Track 18 ("Rainstorm") underscores the climactic fight at the end of the film - the percussion and slowly building thematic loop engrosses the listener and heightens the tension in the scene.

The score to 8MM runs almost 50 minutes long, and is an engrossing and unique score to listen to. Compass III Records, who released the album, is certainly on a winning streak of quality releases, with The Avengers and A Simple Plan already under their belt. With the expectation of an expanded Tomorrow Never Dies later this year, there will be great things to come from this fledgling record label.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!