Soundtrack Information

Amadeus: The Director's Cut

Amadeus: The Director's Cut

Fantasy (2WAMCD-4435-2)

Release Date: February 5, 2002

Conducted by Sir Neville Marriner

Performed by
Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (2 users)

External Links

Track Listing

Disc 1:
1. "Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183; 1st movement" - W.A. Mozart 7:46
2. "Eine Kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade), K. 525; 1st movement" - W.A. Mozart 5:37
3. "Stabat Mater, Quando Corpus Morietur and Amen" - Giovanni Battista Pergolesi 4:14
4. "Salieri's March turned into Non piu andrai (from Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492)" - Simon Preston and W.A. Mozart 1:47
5. "Serenade for Winds; K. 361; 3rd movement" - W.A. Mozart 6:05
6. "Die Entfughrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction from the Seraglio, K. 384), Chorus of the Janissaries (arr.) / Ich mochte wohl (Ein Deutsches Kriegslied), K. 539 (arr.)" - W.A. Mozart 4:21
7. "Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail (The Abduction from the Seraglio, K. 384), Turkish Finale" - W.A. Mozart 1:24
8. "Mass in C minor; K. 427, Kyrie" - W.A. Mozart 6:25
9. "Concerto for Flute and Harp, K. 299; 2nd movement" - W.A. Mozart 8:30
10. "Symphony No. 29 in A, K. 201; 1st movement, allegro moderato" - W.A. Mozart 5:39
11. "Adagio in C minor for Glass Armonica, K. 617" - W.A. Mozart 6:01
12. "Concerto for Two Pianos, K. 365; 3rd Movement" - W.A. Mozart 7:09
13. "Symphonie Concertante, K. 364; 1st movement" - W.A. Mozart 13:32
  Disc Time: 78:30

Disc 2:
1. "Zaide; Aria, Ruhe Sanft" - W.A. Mozart 6:26
2. "Caro Mio Ben" - Guiseppe Giordano 2:34
3. "Piano Concerto in E flat, K. 482; 3rd movement" - W.A. Mozart 11:04
4. "Le nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492), Act III, Ecco la Marcia" - W.A. Mozart 2:28
5. "Le nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492), Act IV, Ah Tutti Contenti" - W.A. Mozart 2:33
6. Early 18th Century Gypsy Music: Bubak and Hungaricus 1:16
7. "Axur, Finale" - Antonio Salieri 1:10
8. "Don Giovanni, K. 527; Act II, Commendatore scene" - W.A. Mozart 6:55
9. "Piano Concerto in D minor, K. 466; 1st movement" - W.A. Mozart 12:15
10. "Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute), Overture, K. 620" - W.A. Mozart 6:48
11. "Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute), Aria (No. 14), "Queen of the Night" (Der Holle Rache Kocht)" - W.A. Mozart" - W.A. Mozart 2:54
12. "Requiem, K. 626; Introitus" - W.A. Mozart 1:00
13. "Requiem, K. 626; Dies Irae" - W.A. Mozart 1:52
14. "Requiem, K. 626; Rex Tremendae Majestatis" - W.A. Mozart 2:02
15. "Requiem, K. 626; Confutatis" - W.A. Mozart 2:17
16. "Requiem, K. 626; Lacrimosa" - W.A. Mozart 3:46
17. "Piano Concerto in D minor, K. 466; 2nd movement (Romanza)" - W.A. Mozart 9:54
  Disc Time: 77:14
  Total Album Time: 155:44

Audio Samples


by Dan Goldwasser
June 21, 2004
[4.5 / 5]

18 years after it was first released, and swept the Academy Awards, Amadeus is still as powerful as ever.  Based on the play by Peter Schaffer, the story details composer Antonio Salieri's confession to a priest about how he is responsible for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's death.  Salieri (F. Murray Abraham) dedicated his live to God, and in return hoped to be blessed with the gift of music.  But when he meets Mozart (Tom Hulce) - a genius composer, and a giggling buffoon, he realizes that his devotion to God has been squandered.  Renouncing his faith, Salieri now makes it his mission to destroy Mozart.  Recently, Amadeus was re-released in theaters as a new Director's Cut - with an extra 30-minutes of footage.  Primarily rounding out the role of Mozart's wife, Constanze (Elizabeth Berridge), the extra footage also allowed new music to be included in the release.  To complement this re-issue of the film, Fantasy Jazz has put out a new 2-CD set, with 24-bit remastered sound, on 24-karat gold discs.

The soundtrack is primarily the same as the 2-disc set included in the Special Edition laserdisc box set a few years back (which mirrored the content of the 3-disc collector's soundtrack), with the exception of a few new cues.  The music is all classical in nature - the works of Mozart fill the album, and the Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields, conducted Sir Neville Marriner, sounds exceptional.  It is difficult to review such an album, because most of the music has been around for centuries - and nothing I can say will improve upon its value as good or bad.  That being said, however, there are a few tracks on here that stand out exceptionally.  Of course the opening, "Symphony No. 25 in G. minor" is brilliant in the film, underscoring Salieri's suicide attempt and his journey to the sanitarium.  "The Abduction from the Seraglio" is a fun piece, but I'm still a little upset that there are a few moments in the film not on the album.  What is on the album (and wasn't released before) however, is the section in the film where Mozart takes Salieri's March of Welcome and adapts it himself.  As this was all recorded on set, the audio comes directly from the film - complete with dialogue.  It's still an effective moment, though.

The second disc contains "The Marriage of Figaro", "Don Giovanni" and "The Magic Flute" - all of which are exceptionally performed, and delightful to listen to.  But all of that pales in comparison with the climax of the film, and my favorite work on the album: Mozart's "Reqiuem".  The way that the soft mournful "Introitus" is shattered by the "Dies Irae" is just brilliant - it was even replicated for the rather successful marketing campaign for Cliffhanger. "Confutatis", which is created on screen piece by piece in a brilliant sequence, is a powerful cue, and the final "Lacrimosa" is devastatingly sad.  The album is capped with Mozart's "Piano Concerto in D minor", a delightful way to end the film, as Salieri is wheeled away, absolving all the mediocrities in the world.

Now comes the tough part - should you buy this album?  If you have the older version of the album, and can live with it, you're probably better off doing so.  The music is great, certainly - and it's a wonderful album to listen to.  The quality is exceptional, the remastered recording sound great, and the booklet included is informative.  But, as a 24-karat gold CD, the price is expensive.  As a 2-CD set of 24k gold discs, it's even more expensive.  If it weren't for the high price tag, this album would be a "must have".


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!