Soundtrack Information

Autumn in New York

Autumn in New York

Hollywood Records (HR-62280-2)

Release Date: August 1, 2000

Conducted by Gabriel Yared

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

1. "Beautiful" - Jennfer Paige
2. "Getting Some Fun Out Of It" - Madeleine Peyroux
3. "Autumn in New York" - Yvonne Washington
4. "Our Love Never Ends" - Sydney Forest
5. Charlotte and Will
6. Autumn Forever
7. Elegy for Charlotte
8. Autumn In New York - Opening Titles
9. First Kiss
10. Memories
11. A Rude Awakening
12. Walking Through The Park
13. Lunch
14. Thinking About Lisa
15. Butterflies
16. Break-up
17. Thinking It Over
18. Apart
19. Can You Let Me Love You?
20. Searching For A Doctor
21. Katy
22. The Chances For Success
23. What Can I Give You?
24. I Don't want To Leave You
25. First / Last Snow
26. To The Hospital
27. No Thing That Ever Flew
28. The Gift
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Audio Samples


by Dan Goldwasser
August 19, 2000
[4 / 5]

The adage goes, "if it's not broken, don't fix it". That same philosophy might apply to Gabriel Yared's latest work for Autumn in New York. What worked for The English Patient, City of Angels, and Message in a Bottle seems to work here as well. Headed by four enjoyable songs, the album contains over forty minutes of score, and Yared does what we expect him to do with a romantic film of this type–provide a highly effective score evoking images of love, drama, and Autumn.

The first four songs are a mixed bunch stylistically. The upbeat "Beautiful" is sung by Jennifer Paige, which is followed by the jazzier (and smoother) "Getting Some Fun Out of Life." The title song, "Autumn in New York" is crooned out by Yvonne Washington, and its relaxing jazz bass line and soft percussion is just perfect. The last song on the album before we hit the orchestral score is the romantic ballad, "Our Love Never Ends." Piano and strings are all Sydney Forest needs to accompany her, and it's a rather sad and emotional song.

Now we enter Yared's section of the album. Right off the bat, you can tell this is going to be a good one. His soft piano theme slowly melds with the strings, and the woodwinds slowly come in with the occasional harp pluck–almost the same type of orchestration he did in The English Patient. In fact, in "Elegy For Charlotte," we suddenly have vocals added to the score, provided by Miriam Stockley. While I'm not sure what language she is singing in, it fits perfectly into the melody and adds to the already enjoyable score. Just when you don't think it can get any better, it becomes a duet–and then it's just magic!

Most cues focused on the piano/strings emphasis, with the occasional saxophone ("Lunch") adding a bit more texture and reminding people that this is New York City–not just some other place. I have to admit that much of the score gets lost in itself–it was difficult to differentiate between many of the cues, as they generally sound alike. But they all have that high quality romanticism that we've come to expect from Yared.

The score to Autumn in New York is certainly as romantic a score as they come. While it's not as obvious a score as Titanic's was in pulling the heartstrings, Yared's mastery of the orchestra once again proves that he can compete with the best of them. It's nowhere near as riveting or dark as The Talented Mr. Ripley, but then, this was a completely different type of movie! Running almost an hour long, you really can't do wrong with this solid album released by Hollywood Records.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!