Soundtrack Information

Hell and High Water

Hell and High Water

Limited Edition of 1,200 Copies
Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 19)

Release Date: April 1, 2005

Conducted by Alfred Newman

Format: DDD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

External Links

Track Listing

1. The Atom Bomb 2:17
2. Paris 1:24
3. Denise Enters; World Broadcast 2:44
4. Rendezvous 1:29
5. His Own Price for Dying 1:07
6. There's No Tomorrow 2:35
7. Submerged Submarine / Choppy Seas 4:59
8. Denise 2:29
9. Captain Jones / Sub Through Choppy Seas 1:04
10. 61 J Capsule / The Red Sub / Up at Sub 8:59
11. The Ocean Floor 7:31
12. The Sub's Rising / The Victorious Sub 5:24
13. We've Sighted Land 1:59
14. Oil Tank Explosion 2:07
15. Stormy Sea 1:07
16. Kevlock Island / "Your Record, Captain" / The Enemy / The Killing 7:51
17. Escape 1:35
18. Chin Lee's Burial 0:54
19. The Bomber is Destroyed Parts 1 and 2 / Homeward Bound 4:34
20. BONUS TRACKS: Mam'selle 2:46
21. To Romance 0:42
22. Don't Fence Me In 1:26
23. Wild Bomb Mushroom Effect (Vibraphone) 1:59
24. Wild Bomb Mushroom Effect (Cymbals/Gong Version) 2:09
25. The Atom Bomb (revised) 2:17
  Total Album Time: 73:28

Audio Samples

From the Manufacturer

The world premiere release of the original soundtrack from the Samuel Fuller submarine espionage thriller. A mysterious A-bomb blast sends an international submarine team off in search of the origin. Richard Widmark commands and Bella Darvi adds a scientific love interest in 20th Century Fox's 1954 CinemaScope actioner.

Alfred Newman begins scoring sessions in December of 1953, the year of The Robe, and provides one of his most exciting and dramatic soundtracks. The opening sequence with the initial detonation and the main title remain one of Newman's most dynamic efforts. The lengthy cues for the submarine battle are additional highlights.

Intrada presents the complete score, including alternate main title sequence, unused A-bomb effects scored by Newman, and source cues. Virtually everything has survived intact and in stereo from the 35mm magnetic master elements, including all "sweetener" tracks and overlays. A few cues exhibit minor "wobliness" due to age but everything remains suitable for listening. Most of the selections appear with dynamic quality.

Newman authority Jon Burlingame provides detailed notes about the production. Alfred Newman conducts. This Intrada Special Collection is limited to 1200 copies.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!