Soundtrack Information

Jeremiah Johnson

Jeremiah Johnson

Limited Edition of 3,000 Copies
Film Score Monthly (FSMCD Vol. 12 No. 15)

Release Date: October 5, 2009

Format: CD

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Track Listing

1. Overture / Spirits Landings / Jeremiah Johnson (Main Title) 7:44
2. Hatchet Jack’s Letter / Bear Claw / You Got Some Work to Do 1:52
3. Jeremiah Johnson / Top Knot 2:28
4. Wedding Chant/ The Way That You Wander 1:45
5. Swan 2:40
6. The Cabin / It’ll Have to Do 2:32
7. Ride to the Buffalo 2:17
8. Who Won? / Intermission 1:48
9. Entr’Acte / The Burial Ground / Ride Home / The Wake 4:00
10. Funeral Fire 1:03
11. Indian Death Chant / He’s Never Been Known to Be Wrong (An Indian Says) / Jeremiah Johnson 1:59
12. Violence Montage 0:46
13. To Qualens / What’s on the Spit? 2:04
14. Green and Muddy / The Way That You Wander / Jeremiah Johnson (End Title) 3:22
15. ADDITIONAL SCORE: Spirits Landing (instrumental) 1:56
16. Paints His Shirt Red / Hatchet Jack / M11 / M12 / Yes / Close Shave 1:37
17. He’s Never Been Known to Be Wrong (instrumental) 2:02
18. Hatchet Jack / Bear Claw / Full-Time Night Woman 2:02
19. The Wedding / The Way That You Wander 2:06
20. Maybe April / The Way That You Wander / End Title 3:56
21. ORCHESTRAL DEMO: Spirits Landing / Jeremiah Johnson (Main Title) 5:38
22. WORK TAPE: The Cabin 4:24
23. Flute and Violin 1:14
24. Jeremiah Johnson 1:23
25. The Heart of a Lady 2:46
26. Guitar Improvisation 0:16
27. Violin and Piano 1:15
28. Jeremiah Johnson (End Title) 1:37
29. The Way That You Wander 1:15
30. The Heart of a Lady (humming) 1:06
31. Jeremiah Johnson (End Title) 1:14
  Total Album Time: 72:07

Audio Samples

From the Manufacturer

One of the loveliest and most lyrical symphonic scores of the early 1970s comes to CD in deluxe form in Jeremiah Johnson (1972), the Sydney Pollack-directed, John Milius-scripted western starring Robert Redford as a 19th century mountain man.

The gorgeous, folk-symphonic score to Jeremiah Johnson was composed by a team of musicians largely unknown to soundtrack collectors (except for this effort)–but don't let that fool you. John Rubinstein (b. 1946) and Tim McIntire (1944-1986) were primarily actors but also musicians with a handful of composing credits. They won the assignment after Rubinstein had a meeting with Pollack through his acting agent.

Between McIntire's efforts as a singer-songwriter and Rubinstein's gifts as a symphonic composer and orchestrator–and their collaborative harmony–they created a lasting piece of Americana centered around several original songs (sung by McIntire) essaying Jeremiah's story. The symphonic portions, meanwhile, brim with the Milius ethos of heart, humor, strength and love of the land–very much in keeping with the robust orchestral scores Basil Poledouris would later compose for Milius's films as director and, apart from Milius, the Emmy-winning Lonesome Dove.

Previously available only on LP, the complete score to Jeremiah Johnson has been restored from excellent stereo sources to present a main program generally following the LP but omitting the dialogue that appeared on several tracks (rather like a concept album).

A comprehensive bonus section includes those dialogue-laced tracks, plus alternate instrumental cues from the original soundtrack and–thanks to Rubinstein's foresight in saving the material–the complete demos which the composers used to secure the assignment. Including early and unused versions of the songs, the CD is a lasting treasury of this exceptional project.

Liner notes feature an essay on the film and score by Nick Redman and program notes by Al Kaplan incorporating new interview material with Rubinstein by Jeff Bond.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!