Soundtrack Information

The China Syndrome

The China Syndrome

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies
Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 110)

Release Date: September 14, 2009

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

External Links

Track Listing

1. The Plant 2:24
2. News At 6:00 1:44
3. Ticking Time Bomb 7:51
4. Hot Rods 3:11
5. News At 11:00 1:52
6. Meltdown! 3:34
7. The China Syndrome 4:21
8. The Truth And Finale 5:34
9. BONUS TRACKS: Source Suite #1 1:35
10. Source Suite #2 5:24
  Total Album Time: 37:30

Audio Samples

From the Manufacturer

One of the best kept secrets in film music is out! World premiere release of never-used Michael Small score for highly-praised, then-timely thriller directed by James Bridges, starring Jane Fonda, Michael Douglas, Jack Lemmon.

The tense tale of a nuclear plant disaster played incredibly well without any dramatic scoring, but the original intent was to have Small add suspense and excitement to the grim and eerie proceedings. Small offers terse ideas, keeping pace with the pending disaster, then unleashes a sensational action cue with the "Meltdown!" sequence.

While multi-track elements have vanished, Sony fortunately vaulted mono safety copies of entire sessions. Engineering slates and paperwork allowed us to recreate Small's original picture intent as well. Also included is "bonus" section of Small's original source music, used for various TV bumpers (Fonda & Douglas are TV reporters). Michael Small conducts. Intrada Special Collection release limited to 1000 copies!

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!