Soundtrack Information

The Clearing

The Clearing

Varese Sarabande (302 066 585 2)

Release Date: 2004

Conducted by Matt Dunkley

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

External Links

Track Listing

1. The Clearing Main Theme - Solo Violin 1:20
2. Arnold Gets Dressed 1:23
3. Arnold On His Way 1:47
4. Wayne, Please Don't Be Late 1:00
5. Arnold Kidnaps Wayne 1:27
6. The Clearing Main Theme - Solo Piano 2:45
7. The Journey Into the Forest 2:09
8. A Cigarette Break 1:50
9. Do You Know Louise Miller? 1:32
10. Have Always Had That Mustache 2:24
11. I Love My Wife 2:33
12. Tim Yells at Fuller 2:22
13. Wayne's Cell Phone Rings 1:36
14. I Love Him and She Admires Him 1:28
15. At the Stream 5:43
16. It's Blood 1:48
17. Wayne Makes a Run For It 2:09
18. She's on the Move 2:53
19. Stop Here Please 0:53
20. You Need a Sign of Life 5:38
21. Don't Forget the Trash 1:43
22. The Interrogation 1:45
23. Wayne's Murder 0:45
24. I Have Everything I Need 3:14
25. The Clearing Main Theme - Orchestral Version 3;08
  Total Album Time: 55:15

Audio Samples


by Mike Brennan
November 2, 2004
[1.5 / 5]

Craig Armstrong's scoring assignments are anything but predictable. His stunning reorchestrations of songs for Moulin Rouge and his classic choral climax from Plunkett and Maclean show his great skill at orchestral and choral writing. But then there are his lesser known scores, where little of this is apparent. The Clearing, starring Robert Redford and Willem Defoe, is one such score. As a psychological thriller, the ambient style of the score is appropriate for the film, but it does not fare well as an album release. The majority of the music is ambient electronics, with some solo piano and violin interspersed throughout.

There are three versions of the "Main Theme": Solo Violin, Solo Piano, and the Orchestral version, which closes the album. The theme is drawn out, and almost sorrowful in its performance by the violin and piano, but rarely appears in the rest of the music; two tracks which feature it prominently are "It's Blood" and "I Have Everything I Need". The former features a beautiful performance on violin. Parts of the score, which feature some of the heavier electronics, sound like Harry Gregson-Williams' work for Spy Game, particularly "I Love Him And She Admires Him" and "Wayne Makes A Run For It".

"She's on the Move" also features the pounding electronics, which are backed by a quiet horn line, one of the few appearances by brass in the score. The closing track, "I Have Everything I Need" is the highlight of the album, fleshing out the main theme on the piano and light string orchestrations. Despite the few moments of solo performances, but the score is generally ambient and low electronics, which make for a difficult listening experience between moments of beautiful music, which are, unfortunately, few and far-between.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!