Soundtrack Information

A Summer Story - Expanded

A Summer Story - Expanded

Music Box Records (MBR-108)

Release Date: January 23, 2017

Conducted by Georges Delerue

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Ashton Arrives 3:23
2. We Meet Megan 1:00
3. Falling in Love 1:30
4. Sheep Shearing / Coming to Town 1:47
5. Megan Leaves Forever 1:44
6. The Gentle Maiden (Instrumental) 1:46
7. Love in the Loft 4:52
8. Megan at Work 0:49
9. Summer Poem 1:38
10. Waiting for Megan** 2:13
11. Night Meeting 1:30
12. Devon by Night* 0:56
13. The Green House* 0:52
14. At the Beach / Flashback and Rescue 2:36
15. The Locket* 0:49
16. Abandoned 4:57
17. The Gentle Maiden (Instrumental) (Film Version)* 1:16
18. Megan in the Field 1:15
19. Farewell to Megan* 3:29
20. Missed the Train** 1:50
21. Thinking of Ashton** 1:38
22. Return to the Hill 3:27
23. Ashton's Son (Theme from A Summer Story) 3:26
  Total Album Time: 48:43

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Previously unreleased
** Contains unreleased material

Music Box Records is proud to present the expanded CD edition of the romantic masterpiece, A Summer Story. While the music by Georges Delerue is thematically rich, like most the composer's scores, the key to appreciating the delicacy and brilliance of A Summer Story is to look at the score as a clash between different sections of orchestra, specifically the strings and the woodwinds. The sections of the orchestra represent different social classes - as the story progresses, the two worlds start to intertwine together in enchanting ways - the most beautiful passages of the developing romance utilize both the strings and the selected woodwinds (flutes in particular). The film is also notable for featuring Delerue's adaptation of an Irish folk song entitled The Gentle Maiden - this CD marks the debut release of the cue's film version.

A Summer Story was issued on LP and CD around the time of the film's release, it included 35 minutes of music organized into 20 tracks. The current release adds about 15 minutes of brand new material organized into 23 tracks. The 8-page booklet by Gergely Hubai discusses the film and the score.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!