Soundtrack Information

A Time for Singing

A Time for Singing

Limited Edition of 1,500 Copies
Kritzerland (KR 20025-1)

Release Date: April 29, 2013

Format: CD

Music From

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

External Links

Track Listing

1. Come You Men
2. How Green Was My Valley
3. Old Long John
4. What a Good Day is Saturday
5. Someone Must Try
6. Oh, How I Adore Your Name
7. That's What Young Ladies Do
8. When He Looks at Me
9. Far From Home
10. I Wonder If
11. A Time for Singing
12. Medley: Let Me Love You / I've Nothing to Give / Let Me Love You (Reprise)
13. Why Would Anyone Want to Get Married?
14. I'm Always Wrong
15. There is Beautiful You Are
16. Three Ships
17. Tell Her
18. The Mountains Sing Back
19. Medley: Peace Come to Every Heart / Gone in Sorrow / How Green Was My Valley (Reprise)
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

Kritzerland is extremely happy to announce a new limited edition cast album, the first-ever CD release for A Time for Singing, with music by John Morris and lyrics by Gerald Freedman and John Morris.

An impressive cast was assembled for this musical, including Shani Wallis, Laurence Naismith, Tessie O'Shea, and Ivor Emmanuel. The choreographer was Donald McKayle, and the sets were by the great Ming Cho Lee, lighting by Jean Rosenthal, and costumes by Theoni V. Aldredge. Orchestrations were by Don Walker and the musical direction by Jay Blackton in other words, a Class A cast and creative team straight down the line.

A Time for Singing opened on Broadway on May 21, 1966 after ten previews. The show received humdrum reviews and closed after only forty-one performances. Over the years, a cult has grown for A Time for Singing, thanks to its excellent cast recording that was issued by Warner Bros. Records. The score is beloved by hordes of theater music fans and the album was always a sought-after collector's item. It has taken a long time to bring it to CD, and we're thrilled to be the ones to do it. Perhaps the show will be rediscovered—certainly the score is worthy of rediscovery, with John Morris's lush and beautiful music, and excellent lyrics by Morris and Freedman.

For this first-ever CD release, the original album masters were used—they were in pristine condition and the sound is absolutely stunning. So, here, finally, is A Time for Singing and it is indeed truly a time for singing. This edition is limited to 1500 copies only.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!