Soundtrack Information

Cromwell - Expanded

Cromwell - Expanded

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 228)

Release Date: January 7, 2013

Conducted by Frank Cordell

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 4 stars (1 user)

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

Disc 1: The Score
1. Main Titles 3:01
2. Such Talk Is Treason 1:26
3. Confrontation On Common Land 1:29
4. The Victim 0:51
5. Aye - A Beggar 1:50
6. Arrest Them All 1:07
7. The King's Dilemma 2:13
8. Parliament Is Dissolved 1:48
9. Think Well On It 1:41
10. The River Crossing 0:28
11. Be On Your Guard 1:05
12. The Battle Ends 1:43
13. The New Army 2:31
14. By God - We Have Him 1:13
15. Battle Of Naseby 7:16
16. Intermission Overture 4:21
17. Act II: Parliament In Session 1:53
18. Retreat To Oxford 2:45
19. Do You Not Rise Sir 0:32
20. Deportation 4:10
21. New Army To Parliament 0:50
22. Blind Man's Bluff 1:43
23. A Crown So Easily Recovered 1:45
24. The Hanging 3:34
25. The Great Hall 1:12
26. Prelude To Execution 7:07
27. The Axe Falls 4:23
28. I Will Destroy You 2:57
29. Wear A Crown 1:36
30. Away With This Bauble (Finale) 3:18
  Disc Time: 71:48

Disc 2: Original LP Album
1. Main Title; Why Are You Leaving England? 5:41
2. This Is The Common Land 1:37
3. ...Declare War On My Own People? 2:05
4. Parliament... Is Not A Gathering Of Lackeys To The King 1:22
5. My Lord Strafford, You Will Rid Us Of These Troublemakers 1:37
6. A Warrant Upon A Charge Of High Treason 1:52
7. An Institution Is Known As Democracy 2:30
8. This Nation Is Now In A State Of Civil War 2:29
9. The Battle At Edgehill 3:14
10. The New Army 4:02
11. By God, We Have Him! 0:55
12. The Battle At Naseby 4:16
13. King Charles Is Arrested 1:14
14. The Army Will Not Stand Down 1:46
15. An England Without A King Is Unthinkable 2:29
16. I Will Have This King's Head, Aye, And The Crown Upon It 1:04
17. I Am No Ordinary Prisoner, Sir 2:33
18. Warrant For The Death Of A King 2:20
19. From A Corruptible To An Incorruptible Crown 1:37
20. I Will See This Nation Properly Governed, Epilogue 6:15
  Disc Time: 50:58
  Total Album Time: 122:46

From the Manufacturer

In 1970 Capitol issued a 51-minute soundtrack LP of dialogue highlights from Columbia's Cromwell. Other than mere snippets of music contained within the dialogue tracks on Capitol's album, Frank Cordell's dynamic and powerful score was never singled out for its own release.

Now Intrada presents a 2-CD set containing the premiere of the complete original score in magnificent stereo on one disc and the original LP presentation on the second. Source masters for the scoring sessions were numerous 1/4" 7 1/2 ips two-track rolls of tape, stored for 40-plus years in the EMI Capitol vaults.

Cordell's score was actually much longer than what appeared in the 140-minute picture. Not only had he composed "Overture" and "Intermission" sequences, but also several sequences subsequently dropped from the final production. These are all included on the CD.

The original film structure places the action in the first half of the movie, with exciting sequences of soldiers and battle, all leading to the end of Act I. The second half stresses verbal confrontations between the two protagonists, the lengthy trial and the execution of King Charles. As such, Cordell necessarily puts his fanfares and battle music in the first half, and then writes more deliberate, involved dramatic underscoring for the second half.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!

Related Soundtracks


Capitol Records

Released: 1970