Soundtrack Information

Django Strikes Again

Django Strikes Again

Limited Edition of 500 Copies

Kronos (KRONCD053)

Release Date: September 28, 2014

Conducted by Gianfranco Plenizio

Format: CD

Track Listing

1. Durango 3:41
2. Mercy 1:42
3. Black Vessel 2:36
4. Alamo's Battle 1:52
5. Tortillas 1:35
6. Ambush 1:33
7. Sad Violins 1:43
8. Drunk Chorus 0:14
9. Devil Theme 1:34
10. Desert People 2:52
11. Fear And Tension 1:39
12. Durango (Choral Version) 1:48
13. Brigands Attack 1:30
14. Durango (Acoustic Guitar Theme) 1:50
15. Scottish March 1:35
16. Mercy (Choral Fast Verison) 2:44
17. Durango (Choral and Strings Version) 1:13
18. Dead Whisper 0:21
19. Mercy (Alternative Version) 1:44
20. Inner Terror 1:31
21. Desert People (Alternative Version) 1:32
22. Dead Whisper (Alternative Version) 2:00
23. Alamo's Battle (Alternative Version) 1:35
24. Mercy (Alternative Choral Version) 1:47
25. Nightmare 0:25
26. Durango (Choral Version) 1:32
27. Dead Walk 0:53
28. Devil Theme (Alternative Version) 9:21
29. Two Guitars Attack (Arpeggio) 3:21
30. Durango (Choral and Strings Version) 9:07
31. Black Vessel (Alternative Version) 5:16
32. Wild Bass Drums 3:07
33. Synthy Up Tempo 5:31
34. Mercy (Alternative Choral Version) 0:04
35. Terror Crescendo 5:16
36. Crash Sound Effect 3:36
  Total Album Time: 89:40

From the Manufacturer

Django 2: Il Grande Ritorno (internationally released as Django Strikes Again) is a 1987 Italian spaghetti western film directed by Nello Rossati. It is the only official sequel of Django.

The musical score for this spaghetti sagebrush saga is by Gianfranco Plenizio, who wrote a multi themed and very colorful and eclectic score for the movie. The composer employs a strong trumpet theme for the gunfight scene that takes place at the beginning of the movie that is reminiscent of the style of composers such as Ennio Morricone, Franco Micalizzi and Francesco De Masi.

Plenzio also effectively employs a wordless female soprano voice on a number of cues again evoking the style of Morricone when he turned to Edda dell Orso on so many of his western scores. The music for Django Strikes Again has a strong South American influence with pan pipes at times being introduced into the proceedings adding some ethnic authenticity plus Plenzio from time to time includes an ominous sounding tolling church bell that punctuates and augments the events.

A vinyl containing thirteen cues of the film was released back in 1997 by Colosseum. This CD features the score in its integrity and features 36 tracks for a length of 54 minutes of music.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!