Soundtrack Information

Doctor Who: The Krotons

Doctor Who: The Krotons

Silva Screen (SILCD1371)

Release Date: May 13, 2013

Performed by
The BBC Radiophonic Workshop

Formats: CD, Digital, Vinyl

Music From

Music By

Track Listing

1. Doctor Who (New Opening Theme, 1967) 0:53
2. The Learning Hall 2:41
3. Door Opens 0:37
4. Entry into the Machine 1:34
5. Tardis (New Landing) 0:19
6. Wasteland Atmosphere 1:24
7. Machine and City Theme 1:50
8. Machine Exterior 1:44
9. Panels Open 0:18
10. Dispersal Unit 0:41
11. Sting 0:20
12. Selris' House 0:42
13. Machine Interior 1:17
14. Snake Bleeps Low 1:02
15. Silver Hose (The Snake) 0:46
16. Snake Bleeps High 0:31
17. Teaching Machine Hums 0:44
18. Forcefield 0:48
19. Burning Light 1:06
20. Birth of a Kroton 1:11
21. Kroton Theme 2:14
22. Kroton Dies 0:35
23. Link - Rising Hum 2:05
24. Kroton Dies (alternative) 0:19
  Total Album Time: 25:41

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Generating and manipulating music and sound effects defines sound design, a process that is common on TV and film productions nowadays. However The BBC Radiophonic Workshop was way ahead of the game in the 1960s. Brian Hodgson was a member of the Workshop working closely with the seminal figure of Delia Derbyshire. As the original sound effects creator for Doctor Who he was responsible for the chilling Dalek voices and the powerhouse sound of the Tardis lifting off (created by running a back door key for his mother's house along the bass string of a gutted piano and treating it electronically).

His highly innovative techniques are fully on display on this collection of 'special sounds' that provided the background to Doctor Who - The Krotons, broadcast in December 1968/January 1969.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!