Soundtrack Information



Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies

Kritzerland (KR 20029-6)

Release Date: February 24, 2015

Conducted by Paul Glass

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

Disc 1: Ethan
1. Main Title / Ethan's Work
2. Ethan's Way
3. Andai
4. I Feel Safe Here
5. The Painter Drunk
6. Give Me That Bottle
7. Forgive Me, Father / The Church
8. Scars of Battle
9. Ethan and Andai
10. It's Not the Book, It's the Man
11. Awakening Ethan and Passion / Crisis of Faith and Prayer
12. Aftermath
13. Word Spreads
14. Trouble Brewing
15. My Name is Ethan / Hide
16. Murderous Rage / What Have I Done?
17. Looking for Andai
18. You Don't Come Here Anymore / Ethan Attacked
19. Ethan Rescued
20. Fishing
21. Thankful
22. Ethan Returns
23. Ethan's Prayers
24. Ethan's Story
25. Andai in Danger
26. Only Forgiveness Helps
27. Tragedy / End Credits
Disc 2: Interregnum
1. George Grosz's Interregnum
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

Ethan is a mystery. It's not only a lost film, it's a film that most people have never heard of, let alone seen. It had a very brief release and disappeared completely, having only one release in the early days of VHS. It's certainly not a great film, but it's an interesting one that deals with interesting subjects and was especially bold for a 1964 film.

The one area in which Ethan soars is its score by composer Paul Glass. He had two distinct styles for his film scores—avant-garde (Lady In a Cage) and a more accessible harmonic style (Ethan, and subsequently, Bunny Lake is Missing). Ethan almost seems like a dry run for the Bunny Lake is Missing score, with which it definitely has things in common. Ethan is a beautiful score, with haunting themes that are developed with wonderful variety throughout its playing time.

As a companion piece, we also include Paul Glass's score for the short film George Grosz's Interregnum. Glass's score for Interregnum falls firmly into his avant-garde style and fits perfectly with the imagery of the film.

Both scores are presented complete and in stereo from Mr. Glass's personal tapes. We are thrilled to have two more Paul Glass scores on CD.

Paul Glass had a completely unique musical voice in film music back then and hearing his work today, his musical voice remains completely unique.

This release is limited to 1000 copies only.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!