Soundtrack Information

Girl, Interrupted

Girl, Interrupted

TVT Records (TVT 6500-2)

Release Date: January 18, 2000

Conducted by Nicholas Dodd

Formats: CD, Digital

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Average Rating: 5 stars (1 user)

External Links

Track Listing

1. Wilco - "How To Fight Loneliness"
2. Them featuring Van Morrison - "It's All Over Now Baby Blue"
3. The Band - "The Weight"
4. The Mamas & The Papas - "Got A Feelin'"
5. The Chambers Brothers - "Time Has Come Today"
6. Jefferson Airplane - "Comin' Back To Me"
7. Merrilee Rush & The Turnabouts - "Angel Of The Morning"
8. Aretha Franklin - "The Right Time"
9. Skeeter Davis - "The End Of The World"
10. Petula Clark - "Downtown"
11. You Need A Rest
12. Claymoore
13. The Ward
14. Emergency Room
15. Lisa
16. Seclusion
17. Meds
18. The Tunnels
19. Filre Reading
20. Toby / My Friends
21. Ambivalence
22. Escape
23. Daddy's Money
24. New Morning
25. Driving In The Rain
26. Last Night
27. So Many Buttons
28. Breakdown
29. Going Home
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.


by James Barry
May 10, 2003
[3 / 5]

Girl, Interrupted is a bit more mainstream and straightforward than we've come to expect of films scored by Mychael Danna. Though the editing of the film's first twenty minutes or so is on the more surreal side, it thereafter sets in to a linear narrative and becomes a rather "pop"-ish film with some great acting. Responding to the nature of the film, Danna's music is some of his most accessible, even if not his most interesting or complex work.

Getting the songs on the album out of the way (since they comprise most of it), they tend not to do much for me. With Aretha Franklin, The Mamas & the Papas, Them (featuring Van Morrison), and others, we have a case of some reasonably lesser-known songs by well-known artists. The only songs in the film that really stand out in my memory are Petula Clark's "Downtown," and Wilco's "How to Fight Loneliness"—which, even though it's the only new song on the album, has a Simon and Garfunkel-ish familiarity to it.

As for Danna's score, to say that it is not on par with his usual work is not to say that it is not at times very pleasant, and occasionally very beautiful. "You Need a Rest" introduces Danna's main theme, a bit of minimalism where the harmonic progression never quite goes where one would expect. After this comes quite a bit of folksy guitar work (performed by brother Jeff Danna) and some suspense music utilizing string work similar to Ride With the Devil. What sets this score apart from other Danna scores (there's always something!) is the use of the Glass Orchestra, a Canadian quartet wherein all instruments played are made from glass. The sound is eerie, but for me, does not have the same effect as similar use of gamelan bells in The Ice Storm.

With twenty score tracks, I find myself listening repeatedly to about four of them, and the best of the music is near the end of the album. "Driving In the Rain" finds Danna's penchant for the clarinet shown here in a haunting trio with bass and bells, after which comes the best use of folk guitar in the score. "Going Home" restates the main theme, but this time, it evolves into a variation for flute that is (in my opinion) the highlight of the album.

1999 had brought about quite a variety of scoring assignments for Mychael Danna, with 8MM, Ride With the Devil, Felicia's Journey, and finally Girl, Interrupted. Though his latest score isn't as groundbreaking as 8MM or Felicia's Journey, it's a rather pleasant listening experience—even at about twenty-four minutes.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!