Soundtrack Information

How the Grinch Stole Christmas! / Horton Hears a Who!

How the Grinch Stole Christmas! / Horton Hears a Who!

Rhino Movie Music (R2 75969)

Release Date: 1999

Conducted by Eugene Poddany

Performed by
The MGM Studio Orchestra and chorus

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Opening
2. Trim Up The Tree
3. Tomorrow is Christmas, It's Practically Here
4. Welcome Christmas
5. I Must Stop Christmas
6. You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch (Thurl Ravenscroft)
7. You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch (Reprise) (Thurl Ravenscroft)
8. A Quarter of Dawn
9. Welcome Christmas
10. Finale
11. Opening - Isolated Music Track
12. Trim Up The Tree - Isolated Music Track
13. Welcome Christmas - Isolated Music Track
14. You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch - Isolated Music Track
15. Opening
16. Mrs. Roucanella Told Me
17. Old Doc Hoovey
18. Wickersham Brothers Song
19. Who-ville Aloft
20. Doctor Hoovey, You Were Right
21. Horton The Elephant's Going To Be Caged
22. Be Kind To Your Small Person Friends
23. Finale
24. Old Doc Hoovey - Isolated Music Track
25. Wickersham Brothers Song - Isolated Music Track
26. We Are Here - Isolated Music Track
27. Be Kind To Your Small Person Friends - Isolated Music Track
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Related Albums

Review: How the Grinch Stole Christmas / Horton Hears a Who!

by Dan Goldwasser November 20, 1999
4 / 5 Stars

Rhino Records, with plenty of time for the Christmas holidays, finally released a soundtrack to everyone's favorite Dr. Seuss adaptation: "How The Grinch Stole Christmas!". Famed animator Chuck Jones adapted the classic Seuss tale about a nasty Grinch stealing Christmas from Who-ville, and had original songs written for the show. Perhaps the most famous of these songs, "You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch" has become an instantly recognizable classic. This album presents the entire audio of the show, and includes a few bonus tracks with just the songs. Also included is the entire audio portion from "Horton Hears a Who!", another Seuss/Jones collaboration, which also involved Who-ville.

"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is almost completely underwritten with score by composers Albert Hague and Eugene Poddany, and it was great to be able to hear the show (and not be "distracted" by the wonderful animation), and focus on the musical contribution to this show. Always underscoring the action onscreen, animation music tends to be limited in themes, yet this score contains about four themes, all of which seem to stem from the songs written for the show. Boris Karloff is, of course, excellent as the narrator of the tale, and the MGM Chorus does a delightful job singing the songs. But the best feature of this album, of course, is "You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch", performed with such evil deliciousness by Thurl Ravenscroft, who is also known for providing the voice of Tony the Tiger.

The second half of the album is focused on "Horton Hears a Who!", which was also scored by Eugene Poddany. Once again the score underscores the animation on screen, and again most of the themes stem from the songs present in the show. The most memorable moment of this show, at least for me, is the song "Be Kind To Your Small Person Friends", utilizing "The Stars and Stripes Forever" by John Philip Sousa.

The audio quality for "Grinch" is presented in high-fidelity mono, and there are some times where the fact that it was recorded in 1966 is blatantly apparent - but there are some other moments that sound exceptionally well - including "You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch". Three years later, in 1969, "Horton Hears A Who!" was recorded in stereo, and the sound quality is exceptional. The narration at times seems a bit "older" in quality than the music, but that's probably just the way things were. Also included in this album is a nine-page interview with director/animator Chuck Jones, in which they talk about the music and process for these two shows. Oddly enough, they also include the lyrics for the songs from "Grinch", but not from "Horton". Oh well. This album is still a great addition to your Chrismas or soundtrack library. And with Ron Howard's live feature adaptation of "Grinch" (starring Jim Carrey) coming out next Chrismas, here's to hoping that this album keeps people satiated until then!

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!