Soundtrack Information

King Of The Hill

King Of The Hill

Elektra (2-62441-p)

Release Date: 1999

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

  • Various Artists

Track Listing

1. Travis Tritt with George Thorogood - "Move It On Over"
2. Barenaked Ladies - "Get In Line"
3. The Mavericks - "Down On The Corner"
4. Sheryl Crow - "Straight To The Moon"
5. Brooks And Dunn - "Against The Wind"
6. Faith Hill - "Piece Of My Heart"
7. Trace Adkins - "I Know A Little"
8. The Hill Family Singers - "Mow Against The Grain"
9. Tonic - "East Bound And Down"
10. Deana Carter - "Free Fallin'"
11. Willie Nelson and Mark McGrath - "Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground"
12. Hank Hill - "Teddy Bear"
13. Old 97's - "El Paso"
14. Luanne Platter - "One Tin Soldier"
15. The Refreshments - "King of the Hill Theme"
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Review: King of the Hill

by SoundtrackNet Staff (SC) October 25, 1999
3.5 / 5 Stars

"It's got a good beat, I could kill bugs to it." —Dale Gribble

Meet Hank Hill, star of Fox's animated show "King of the Hill". By day, Arlen's finest propane and propane accessories salesman. By night, professional singer. Unlikely? Perhaps. You won't hear this animated character crooning any musicals in their first soundtrack, "Music From and Inspired by the TV series King of the Hill". However, you will get an eclectic set of covers ranging from The Mavericks dishing out "Down on the Corner" to Faith Hill singing Janis Joplin's "Piece of My Heart." Incidentally, you do get to hear Hank intoning Red Sovine's greatest song ever written (according to Hank), "Teddy Bear." You could almost hear the tears forming on Hank as he recites this song.

Now, this album isn't completely western themed. You'll find yourself jamming along with Barenaked Ladies's single "Get In Line". And thanks to technology, this enhanced CD includes their entire music video in QuickTime format. No more having to sit watching MTV all day hoping to get a glimpse of this amusing song that seems to be inspired by Dale's constantly paranoid character. Other pop songs at your disposal are Sheryl Crow's wistful "Straight to the Heart", and Deana Carter's pensive rendition of Tom Petty's "Free Falling".

However, this album does lean heavily towards country tunes that should come as no surprise to any fan of the show. Travis Tritt teams up with George Thorogood to do a kicking performance of Hank William's "Move It On Over". Also, Willie Nelson and Mark McGrath join together to sing the slow paced "Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground."

Fans of the show will enjoy "Mow Against the Grain" by The Hill Family Singers. Here, the Hill Family (and those who aren't even related to the Hills) each offer their words of wisdom Arlen style. In addition, Luanne Platter belts out one heart-felt song "One Tin Soldier" by Billy Jack. And finally, there's the fast paced King of the Hill theme song by The Refreshments that lasts only about 35 seconds. Good times to be had by all who owns this album. If you're into "King of the Hill", go get the album. If you're into country and western tunes, go watch "King of the Hill", then get the album.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!