Soundtrack Information

Knife in the Water

Knife in the Water

El Records (ACMEM238CD)

Release Date: August 21, 2012

Format: CD

Track Listing

1. Ballad for Bernt
2. Crazy Girl
3. Typish Jazz
4. Cherry
5. Roman 11
6. Niewinni Czarodzieje 1
7. Niewinni Czarodzieje 2
8. Niewinni Czarodzieje 3
9. For Heaven's Sake
10. Three Little Words
11. Stella By Starlight
12. An Oscar for a Devil
13. This or This
14. Get Out of Town
15. Fourth
16. Moja Ballada
17. Stella By Starlight
18. Memory of Bach
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

The music of Knife in the Water was written by the brilliant young Polish composer and pianist Krzysztof Komeda. It is arguably one of the most effective scores in cinema history; understated jazz that compliments the picture's sharp monochrome cinematography and the tense minimalism of the script and brings to the film another emotional dimension.

Also included here are three pieces composed and performed by Komeda for Andrzej Wajda's 1960 film Innocent Sorcerers. Written by Skolimowski, this is a stylish, humorous film about Polish youth: their underground scene, girls, scooters, jazz etc. Both Komeda and Polanski appear on screen.

Komeda would go on to write three further film scores for Polanski: Rosemary's Baby, The Fearless Vampire Killers, and Cul-de-sac. Overall Komeda wrote more than seventy soundtracks before his tragically early, somewhat mysterious death in 1969, at the age of just 38.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!