Soundtrack Information

Lady in the Dark

Lady in the Dark

Masterworks Broadway

Release Date: 1963

Formats: Digital, Vinyl

Music From

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Oh, Fabulous One
2. Huxley
3. One Life to Live
4. Girl of the Moment
5. Liza, Liza
6. Mapleton High Chorale
7. This is New
8. The Princess of Pure Delight
9. The Greatest Show on Earth
10. The Best Years of His Life
11. Tschaikowsky
12. The Saga of Jenny
13. My Ship
14. One Life to Live
15. The Princess of Pure Delight
16. It's Never Too Late to Mendelssohn
17. Tschaikowsky and Other Russians
18. Jenny
19. My Ship
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

With book by Moss Hart, lyrics by Ira Gershwin and music by Kurt Weill, this psychological musical opened on January 23, 1941, to thunderous applause at the Alvin Theatre in New York, and enjoyed a respectable run of 407 performances, in spite of the fact that—like Pal Joey—it broke the traditional mold of Broadway shows at the time.

The story of a stylish fashion magazine editor undergoing psychoanalysis, it starred the radiant Gertrude Lawrence, with Bert Lytell, Macdonald Carey, Victor Mature, and Danny Kaye as the four men of the four dreams that haunt her. The multi-tiered structure, in which each song is part of a particular dream, gave Weill the opportunity to write two of his most memorable compositions, "The Saga Of Jenny" and "My Ship." Gershwin's sophisticated lyrics included the tongue-twister "Tschaikovsky," which would become a runaway hit single for Danny Kaye.

This 1963 studio cast album, starring Risė Stevens, John Reardon, Adolph Green, Stephanie Augustine, Kenneth Bridges, and Roger White, under the musical direction of Lehman Engel, vividly recreates this true masterpiece.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!