Soundtrack Information



Limited Collector's Edition of 300 Units

Quartet Records

Release Date: July 17, 2017

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. THE UNRELEASED 45 RPM SINGLE: L'assassino (Titoli) 2:44
2. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 2:57
3. L'assassino (Notturno) 2:21
4. L'assassino (Attesa blues) 1:39
5. L'assassino (Inseguimento) 1:35
6. THE COMPLETE FILM SCORE: L'assassino (Titoli slow) 1:33
7. L'assassino (Inseguimento) 0:22
8. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 1:27
9. L'assassino (Attesa blues) 1:41
10. L'assassino (Notturno) 1:07
11. L'assassino (Attesa blues) 2:23
12. L'assassino (Notturno) 0:58
13. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 1:05
14. L'assassino (Sospetti) 0:19
15. L'assassino (Atmosfera di sogno) 0:27
16. L'assassino (Momento d'amore piano solo) 2:24
17. L'assassino (Inseguimento) 1:33
18. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 0:57
19. L'assassino (Titoli slow) 2:59
20. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 2:34
21. L'assassino (Sospetti) 0:47
22. L'assassino (Momento misterioso) 2:02
23. L'assassino (Indagine) 1:42
24. L'assassino (Attimo sensuale) 0:17
25. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 0:56
26. L'assassino (Atmosfera sensuale) 1:12
27. L'assassino (Momento d'amore) 2:45
28. L'assassino (Finale versione lunga) 0:45
29. L'assassino (Attesa blues alt.take) 2:24
30. L'assassino (Titoli slow alt.take) 2:52
31. L'assassino (Finale versione corta) 0:26
  Total Album Time: 49:13

From the Manufacturer

Quartet Records in collaboration with Gruppo Sugar presents premiere CD release of Piero Piccioni's complete score for Elio Petri's first major film.

Though most of Petri's films were memorably scored by Ennio Morricone, his earliest pictures were helmed by Piero Piccioni. L'Assassino features a jazz-infused score by Maestro Piccioni as the composer uses creative techniques to juxtapose source and score music. By using a tingling sound effect, the score also aids the director in establishing the film's main narrative gimmick, that is the reliance on flashbacks. While Piccioni later reunited with Petri and Mastroianni on the somewhat better known The 10th Victim, this score is not to be missed either!

The CD features the complete score, including the 5-track EP that Piccioni assembled, but didn't see released, all mastered by Claudio Fuiano. The package includes liner notes by Gergely Hubai discuss the film and the score.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!