Soundtrack Information

Life With Judy Garland: Me And My Shadows

Life With Judy Garland: Me And My Shadows

Promotional Release

Release Date: 2001

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Dad's Living Room 2:33
2. Costume Makeover 1:25
3. "Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart" - Judy Garland 0:56
4. The Stars Above 1:53
5. Mickey's Dressing Room 0:58
6. Ciro's 1:12
7. "You Made Me Love You" - Judy Garland 0:45
8. Vincente Minnelli's Office 1:50
9. A Walk Through New York 2:05
10. "The Trolley Song" - Judy Garland 2:03
11. Judy Meets Sid 2:36
12. After Hours Cafe 2:20
13. Judy and Sid 0:59
14. Ojai Retreat 2:21
15. "The Man That Got Away" - Judy Garland 4:45
16. Preview Overture 2:04
17. We're Broke 3:13
18. Judy and Sid Make Up 0:36
19. "San Francisco" - Judy Garland 1:20
20. "Swanee" - Judy Garland 2:00
21. Backstage at Festival Hall 1:08
22. Judy and Mark 3:29
23. Judy's Demons 2:12
24. Judy's Death 2:32
25. "Over The Rainbow" - Judy Garland 3:30
26. "Get Happy" - Judy Garland 1:00
  Total Album Time: 51:45

Review: Life With Judy Garland: Me And My Shadows

by Dan Goldwasser June 21, 2004
3.5 / 5 Stars

It was a rather impressive made-for-television film, and while it was rather dramatized at times, Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows sought to explore the life (and death) of the classic star.  From her success with MGM to her downfall from drug addiction, the film pretty much covered it all.  Underscoring all of her ups and downs was an original score by William Ross.  A new promotional release covers most of Ross' jazzy score, and includes a few original Garland recordings as well.

Right away you'll realize that this isn't your traditional film score.  In fact, the first third of the album is more a collection of jazzy swing numbers than anything else.  "Dad's Living Room", "Costumer Makeover", "Mickey's Dressing Room", and others are all performed with a small ensemble, with (typically) a clarinet providing the lead melody.  It's upbeat, and does a wonderful job accentuating the "happy" moments of Judy's life.  The themes are hum-able, and one could even imagine lyrics accompanying them. 

After the swing numbers, the album progresses into some light jazz numbers: "Vincente Minnelli's Office", "A Walk in New York", "Judy and Sid", and others.  As the pacing of Judy's life calms down, and the addictions start up, the underscore begins to take on a more melancholy, dramatic tone.  "Ojai Retreat" is very lush and dramatic, and reminds me of some of Morricone's more emotional works.  As Judy did, there are a few "comeback" moments, and the jazz and swing tunes are back again.  But then the floor drops out, and "Judy's Demons" followed by "Judy's Death" are filled with the same sadness that Alan Silvestri accomplished with his Cast Away theme.  It's soft and tender, and, well, depressing.

What soundtrack from a film about Judy Garland would be complete without a few songs from the lady herself?  A couple of classic tunes are spattered throughout the album, including "Zing Went the Strings of My Heart", "You Made Me Love You", "San Francisco", "Swanee", and of course, "Over the Rainbow".  The sound quality is mixed considering the analog sources, and they contrast sharply with the rich-sounding digitally recorded orchestral score.

Life with Judy Garland is a rather enjoyable album when it boils down to it.  The dramatic moments are appropriately somber, but the jazzy swing numbers and classic Garland tunes make this one a pleasure to listen to. Released as a promo, it's available from

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!