Soundtrack Information

Maciste, l'eroe piu grande del mondo

Maciste, l'eroe piu grande del mondo

Digitmovies (CDDM234)

Release Date: March 31, 2013

Conducted by Francesco De Masi

Format: CD

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. La forza 1:46
2. La cattura 2:35
3. La fuga 1:42
4. Idillio al ruscello 1:51
5. La partenza della nave 1:40
6. La sacra quadriremi 1:50
7. L'inizio della battaglia 1:19
8. Il nano fa la sua battaglia 1:39
9. L'incendio della sacra quadriremi 2:18
10. Kelima 1:56
11. Squilli nell'arena 0:52
12. La corsa delle bighe 4:24
13. La beffa del nano 0:51
14. La battaglia nei sotterranei 2:04
15. Meneos e xandros 1:51
16. La tortura 4:55
17. La riscossa 1:44
18. Marcetta di eliminazione 1:23
19. La resa dei conti 1:38
20. La vittoria 2:08
21. BONUS TRACKS: La forza (alt.take) 1:46
22. Il nano fa la sua battaglia (II) 2:14
23. La partenza della nave (II) 1:46
24. L'inizio della battaglia (II) 1:34
25. La partenza della nave (III) 3:50
26. Kelima (II) 1:24
27. La riscossa (II) 0:59
28. Il nano fa la sua battaglia (III) 1:26
29. Marcetta di eliminazione (II) 1:39
30. La partenza della nave (IV) 2:30
31. Idillio al ruscello (II) 3:45
32. La battaglia nei sotterranei (II) 3:00
33. La riscossa (III) 2:29
  Total Album Time: 68:48

From the Manufacturer

Digitmovies, in collaboration with the Sugar Group, presents Volume XXVI of the series dedicated to the Italian Peplum by issuing on CD the complete OST, in full stereo, by Francesco De Masi for the movie Maciste l'eroe più grande del mondo (Goliath and the Sins of Babylon) directed in 1963 by Michele Lupo and starring Mark Forest, Giuliano Gemma, José Greci, Erno Crista, Livio Lorenzon.

Originally, C.A.M. issued a 33 rpm (CMS 30.094) with twenty selections and a duration of 41:14, reprinted in stereo on CD in 1993, (CAM CSE 111). For our CD project we could use the stereo master tapes of the original session that allowed us to discover thirteen new tracks (28:57) which yields a total time to 70:11.

Francesco De Masi has composed a varied symphonic score featuring an epic march motif introduced in "Main Titles" (Tr.1), alternated with a romantic love theme (Tr.4, Tr.10) and several dramatic as well as mysterious battle themes as in Tr.2, Tr.4, Tr.6, Tr.7, Tr.9, Tr.12, Tr.14, Tr.19.

For the character of the dwarf, Maestro De Masi has written a funny theme (Tr.13, Tr.22) in contrast with the glorious atmosphere of the plot. Among the many new tracks we can find an interesting alternate take without the eardrums of the "Main Titles" (Tr.21) which was not used in the film. This CD is a necessary rescue and preservation in honor of the great musical art of Francesco De Masi.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!