Soundtrack Information



Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 267)

Release Date: February 3, 2014

Conducted by Laurence Rosenthal

Format: CD

Music From

Track Listing

1. Main Title 4:26
2. Challenger Two 2:47
3. The Meteor 2:11
4. The Russians Arrive 0:57
5. Siberia 2:02
6. 30,000 M.P.H. 0:54
7. Dubov's Rage 0:58
8. Prepare For Aligning Peter The Great 0:50
9. Realigning Peter The Great 3:51
10. Alpine Innocence 0:59
11. Tatiana 2:00
12. Countdown 2:34
13. Manhattan Splinter 2:27
14. Malfunction 2:57
15. The Assault 3:22
16. Meteor Band March And End Credits 7:03
  Total Album Time: 40:18

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

In its ongoing endeavor to promote interest in the film music of Laurence Rosenthal, Intrada presents this striking new issue of Rosenthal's dramatic sci-fi disaster score, Meteor (1979).

The composer's ingenuity was put to the test, as he was tasked with musically characterizing the eponymous "meteor." The resulting sound features an imposing series of weighty, dissonant chords that slide and lurch in chaotic fashion—a musical preview of the violence and terror Orpheus will unleash, should it strike Earth. This is offset by quieter, misterioso writing for the infinite deep of space.

An array of electronic and synth effects, including Craig Huxley on blaster beam, complete this picture, pointing to the asteroid's extraterrestrial origin, speed and terrible power. The score also features a jaunty march for the Russians and Americans and a broad melody that cuts to the heart of the film's human drama.

For this reissue Intrada accessed the original stereo 1/4" elements that were used for the previous issue of Meteor, featuring the same program while updating the cue titles to accurately reflect the film's cue sheet.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!