Soundtrack Information



Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 259)

Release Date: November 12, 2013

Conducted by Maurice Jarre

Format: Digital

Music From

Music By

Track Listing

1. Silent Night & Main Title Music 5:56
2. Moonshot 2:32
3. Limpy Reindeer 1:35
4. Reindeer Cookies 7:25
5. No Circus Deer 3:46
6. Christmas Star 5:00
7. Theme From Nabucco 2:15
8. Prancer Picnic 2:32
9. Leaving Home 7:00
10. Mysteries Of Love 3:19
11. Prancer Is Free & End Credits 7:39
  Total Album Time: 48:59

From the Manufacturer

When composer Maurice Jarre was hired to score the elements of magic, childhood, and Christmastime in the 1989 MGM film Prancer, he rose to the challenge with panache. Jarre uses colors that capture the tone and almost storybook-like elements of the film, prominently featuring the EWI (electronic wind instrument) which becomes the main solo wind voice—often representing the magical, otherworldly presence of the eponymous reindeer.

Another featured color is the Celtic harp, which gives the score rustic warmth—a sound both ancient and intimate, and Jarre used it to perform the score's main themes solo or to provide little embellishments. The rest of the palette is comprised of solo piano, strings, and synthesizers, blending together to form a musical character both contemporary and timeless—and thoroughly Jarre.

Almost the entire score plays in major keys and reflects the beauty and warmth of the Christmas spirit. The composer wrote two main themes for the film. One is for Prancer: a gliding, lyrical melody that rises and rises in its first half, then gradually falls, alighting on a series of descending chords. The other central theme is for the loving bond that develops between Jessie and Prancer.

To present this premiere CD release, Intrada was fortunate to locate the original stereo session mixes made onto DAT, and presented here just in time for the Christmas holiday.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!