Soundtrack Information

Red Joan

Red Joan

Limited Edition of 500 Units

MovieScore Media

Release Date: May 10, 2019

Formats: CD, Digital

Music From

Music By

Track Listing

1. Red Joan Theme (Prelude) 0:44
2. You're Under Arrest 2:47
3. Back to Cambridge 2:45
4. The Ghost of Matter 2:22
5. My Little Comrade 2:01
6. The Tower 1:57
7. Restraining Order 2:16
8. Good at Drawing 2:43
9. Leo's Arrest 1:13
10. Chadwick's Arrival 1:58
11. Making Land Tomorrow 1:39
12. Maybe One Day 2:08
13. The University 2:33
14. Hiroshima 2:25
15. Agent Lotto 1:54
16. Inspection 2:27
17. The Locket 1:50
18. Photo 2:23
19. Leo's Destiny 2:54
20. Special Branch 1:49
21. Two Copies 1:25
22. I'm Not a Traitor 1:56
23. Max in Jail 2:47
24. End Titles 5:16
25. Red Joan Theme (Postlude) 0:40
  Total Album Time: 54:52

From the Manufacturer

Quartet Records and MovieScore Media present a classy new score by the renowned and always brilliant composer George Fenton.

Starring Academy Award winner Dame Judi Dench, the film is directed by legendary theatrical director Trevor Nunn (whose Lady Jane is also available from Quartet Records). Red Joan is based on Jennie Rooney's novel of the same name, which in turn was inspired by the real life of Melita Norwood. The film tells the story of Joan Stanley (Dench), who finds herself in the middle of an investigation for spying and treason. The flashbacks to her younger days (where she is played by Sophie Cookson) slowly reveal how she got involved in espionage through the machinations of the charming Max (played by Stephen Campbell Moore).

The score by five-time Academy Award-nominated composer George Fenton balances between Joan's past and present, finding a tonal language that sits well with the story of Joan in the 1930s without losing the sense of the story being told and remembered by the older Joan. Created as a balance between the immediacy of young Joan's experience and old Joan's recollections, it is an expertly woven thriller score with a handful of intimate, emotional cues reflecting on Joan's relationship with Max.

The package includes an 8-page booklet featuring liner notes by Gergely Hubai, whose discussion of film and score is based on an original interview with George Fenton. This CD is a limited edition of 500 units.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!