Soundtrack Information

See No Evil

See No Evil

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 293)

Release Date: September 15, 2014

Conducted by Elmer Bernstein

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Main Title 2:00
2. The Car 1:01
3. Memories Of Steve 0:28
4. First Night, First Prize 0:29
5. The Stable 0:58
6. The Dance Club 1:25
7. The Upper Field 0:45
8. Phonograph Record No. 1 0:46
9. Phonograph Record No. 2 1:08
10. The Silver Bracelet 0:40
11. Sarah's Theme 2:09
12. Jacko To Stable 0:31
13. Sandy Is Dead 2:24
14. Dandy Star 3:31
15. Blind Terror 1:28
16. Broken Glass 1:20
17. Jacko Pursues Sarah 1:12
18. Escape! 1:00
19. Field And Clay Pit 3:55
20. End Credits 1:01
  Total Album Time: 28:11

From the Manufacturer

The 1971 Columbia thriller See No Evil pits a blind woman against a savage killer. The film is spotted very sparingly, allowing many tense scenes to play out unscored. Even within composer Elmer Bernstein's cues the music is often made more powerful by being silent. Chamber music textures abound throughout the orchestration. Bernstein's use of strings, alto flute, piano, electric guitar, forceful trombone octaves, bass clarinet, glittering glockenspiel, brittle xylophone, clarinet doubled two octaves higher by piccolo are colors carefully calculated to make the most impact but often with the least "noise.' Everything in this concise-but-superb score has its point.

For this premiere release of Elmer Bernstein's complete soundtrack (the third and final score commissioned for the film), Intrada fortunately was able to locate the two-track stereo session masters, recorded and mixed by Richard Lewzey at Cine-Tele Sound Studios (CTS) in London in July 1971. For decades these tapes appeared to have been lost but, in fact, they survived in full stereo and in beautiful condition, with every cue present—including Bernstein's three brief original source music cues.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!