Soundtrack Information



Quartet Records

Release Date: November 20, 2012

Conducted by Alex North

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Shanks–Main Title 4:00
2. Mansion 2:07
3. The Laboratory 1:50
4. The First Experiment 2:35
5. Wireless Rooster 1:23
6. Children at Play 1:32
7. Several Days Later / The End of a Friend 2:31
8. Pinning the Corpse 2:03
9. The Corpse Walker 5:38
10. Celia 1:34
11. Later That Night 3:10
12. Rooster On His Back 1:37
13. Up From the Pool 1:00
14. The Picnic 1:43
15. Back to the Mansion / The Costume 3:27
16. The Birthday Party 5:11
17. Charlie's Town (The Charleston) 2:14
18. Biker's Waltz 1:44
19. Biker's Minuet 1:48
20. Lifeless Celia 1:05
21. Out of the Grave / Into the Well / No Sign of Life 5:35
22. The Dead Fight the Living / Good Versus Evil / Celia's Waltz / The Happy Mimic 9:59
23. BONUS TRACKS: Story Cards 0:47
24. Dead Bike Rider 0:45
25. TV Horror Show 0:41
  Total Album Time: 65:59

From the Manufacturer

Like the film, Alex North's score is a genre-bending enigma—a profusion of styles in which early 20th-century musical expressionism rubs shoulders with Dixieland, and classic horror picture tropes coexist with passages of tender-hearted lyricism.

Well over an hour in length, North's score was brilliantly orchestrated by Henry Brant for two different ensembles (one comprised mostly of winds and the other consisting primarily of strings). It includes a jaunty theme for Malcolm and a sweetly gentle melody for his friend Celia. Both humor and pathos can be found in the music, as well as passages of unnerving suspense.

We are delighted to finally release a true gem—one of the least-known works of Alex North. This unusual score was awarded a well-deserved Oscar nomination for Best Original Dramatic Score in 1974.

This premiere CD release of Alex North's complete score for Shanks, mastered from 1/4″ monaural tapes housed in the Alex North collection in the Margaret Herrick Library at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, features a 12-page booklet with notes by Frank K. DeWald and numerous film stills.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!