Soundtrack Information

SpaceCamp - Expanded

SpaceCamp - Expanded

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 474)

Release Date: May 16, 2022

Conducted by John Williams

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: SpaceCamp - Expanded
1. THE FILM SCORE: Main Title 3:10
2. The Jinx Connection* 0:31
3. Friends Forever 2:23
4. Training Montage 2:07
5. The Computer Room 1:55
6. Jinx Commits* 1:19
7. The Shuttle 5:10
8. In Orbit 3:19
9. Insufficient Oxygen 3:25
10. Arriving At Daedalus And Morse Code* 2:09
11. Viewing Daedalus 2:50
12. I Can't Reach It* 1:51
13. Max Finds Courage 2:24
14. Max Breaks Loose 2:25
15. Rudy Comes Through* 1:38
16. Andie Is Stranded 4:13
17. White Sands (Film Version) 3:41
18. Re-Entry 4:00
19. Home Again 3:34
20. SpaceCamp 4:12
21. THE EXTRAS: Main Title (Film Version)* 3:14
22. White Sands [Album Edit] 6:57
23. Home Again (Short Version) 2:44
  Disc Time: 69:11
Disc 2: SpaceCamp - Expanded
2. Training Montage 2:02
3. The Shuttle 5:05
4. The Computer Room 1:56
5. Friends Forever 2:22
6. In Orbit 3:15
7. White Sands 6:55
8. SpaceCamp 4:09
9. Viewing Daedalus 2:48
10. Max Breaks Loose 2:23
11. Andie Is Stranded 4:11
12. Max Finds Courage 2:22
13. Re-Entry 3:57
14. Home Again 3:33
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* previously unreleased

Intrada, in cooperation with ABC and Sony Music Entertainment, presents the long-sought expansion of John Williams' glorious score to 1986 feature film SpaceCamp. Williams' approach was to focus on the magic and mystery of space and the emotions surrounding the adventure of orbital flight. While strong conclusions to film scores are a rarity these days, Williams brings the adventure to a close with not one, but two thundering endings ("Home Again" and "SpaceCamp"). Interestingly, the beautiful, soaring style he brought to SpaceCamp is a style he carried over into the following years' The Witches of Eastwick (the largely unused ballroom sequence) and parts of Empire of the Sun, before moving on stylistically. The original RCA program (issued twice by Intrada) was fairly comprehensive, save a handful of missing cues, the most striking omission being the "Arriving At Daedalus" cue, featuring a thrilling fanfare, distinct from any other part of the score.

For this release, producer Mike Matessino built the complete score program from Armin Steiner's original three-track film mixes, featuring a breathtaking and sweeping clarity to the score. This is featured on disc 1, along with three extras. Disc 2 presents the original RCA program as mixed for record by Len Engel from a newly mastered hi-res transfer of the 1/4" album master. Matessino also wrote the detailed liner notes within.

The film fits in with many other summer adventures of the 1980s, putting kids at the center and heart of the story. Here, a talking experimental robot instructs NASA computers to turn a shuttle engine test into a launch that will send teenaged astronaut trainees into space. Together they must get past their angst and work together to return home safely.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!