Soundtrack Information



Limited Edition of 2,000 Units

Quartet Records

Release Date: September 7, 2012

Conducted by Henry Mancini

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. The Cowboys - Main Titles 2:54
2. Tom Mix (Theme from Sunset) (not in film) 1:47
3. The Mixenearp March 2:50
4. NotT Much Like Denver 1:29
5. Theme For Cheryl 3:08
6. The Insurance Policy 1:23
7. The Kit Kat Caper 2:54
8. Sweet Alfie 1:09
9. Gotta Save Nancy / 50 Miles Further 3:04
10. The Cowboys 3:07
11. The Letter 2:25
12. Christina's Story 2:34
13. Alfie Takes a Drive 2:13
14. New Scene 2:07
15. Wyatt & Tom (not in film) 0:35
16. The Mixenearp March (Reprise) 2:56
17. End Credits 4:24
18. SOURCE MUSIC: The Candy Store 3:09
19. Beyond the Candy Store 2:53
20. Barroom Piano 1:22
21. Cleo's Fiddle (Jack Hayes) 0:56
22. Alfie's Act 1:01
23. Awards Music 1:36
24. THE MEXICAN BAND: Blackie's Ranchero 1:44
25. Mexican Waltz-Time 2:20
26. Mexican Fox-Trot 2:35
27. BONUS TRACKS: Theme for Cheryl Alternate Version 1:14
28. The Insurance Policy Alternate Version 1:02
29. Tom Mix (Theme from Sunset ) (not in film) 1:57
  Total Album Time: 62:48

From the Manufacturer

Quartet Records presents a world premiere release of the long-awaited score by Henry Mancini for the western-comedy-suspense fable about the meeting between a Hollywood star of the twenties and Wyatt Earp.

The relationship between Blake Edwards and Henry Mancini has been, is and will always be one of the most celebrated, brilliant and prolific in Hollywood history. They spent 35 years working together (except for a break of five years and three movies), collaborating on TV successes. In 1988 Edwards and Mancini had the opportunity to work together in a western with Sunset... not a real western, but sort of a western... give or take a lie or two.

Sunset represents what is probably the last great effort of Henry Mancini, his last great symphonic score, after a decade full of film music triumphs (Condorman, Without a Clue), far from the obscurity of his many (excellent) seventies scores.

The music of Sunset opens with a great widescreen western theme ("The Cowboys") and includes a lot of suspense, adventure and action music (always with the elegant Mancini touch). His melodic gift is present in the delicate "Theme for Cheryl" and the elegant melody composed for the "Tom Mix" character. The source music is also entirely by Mancini: barroom pianos for silent films, big band sounds, and Mexican music in waltz, ranchera and fox-trot style.

The album has been assembled in dynamic stereo from the three-channel stereo master tapes courtesy of Sony Pictures. The package includes a 16-page full color booklet and liner notes by film music specialist Daniel Schweiger. We are very happy that you can finally enjoy this amazing Mancini score from his final period!

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!