Soundtrack Information

Swan Esther

Swan Esther

Stage Door Productions

Release Date: May 26, 2014

Format: CD

Music From

Track Listing

1. ORIGINAL CONCEPT ALBUM: Introduction and Bow Down (Choir)
2. A Far Outpost of Persia (Clive Carter)
3. The Queen's Party (Clive Carter, The Swan Esther Singers)
4. The Emperor's Wrath (Clive Carter, Stephen Hill)
5. Haman's Advice (Denis Quilley, Stephen Hill)
6. A Bright Idea (Clive Carter, Stephen Hill, Denis Quilley)
7. I've Neglected to Mention (Clive Carter, Stephanie Lawrence)
8. We All Need (The Swan Esther Singers, Choir)
9. My Love is Like a Dream (Stephanie Lawrence)
10. Bow Down (Let's Meet the Queen) (Denis Quilley, Choir)
11. A Strange Girl (Stephen Hill)
12. Kill the King (Clive Carter, Choir)
13. The Emperor's Memoirs (Stephen Hill, Stephanie Lawrence)
14. Treason (Stephen Hill)
15. I Am Great! (Denis Quilley, Clive Carter)
16. I Don't Trust Haman (Denis Quilley, Stephanie Lawrence, Clive Carter)
17. Nothing to Lose (The Square Pegs, The Swan Esther Singers)
18. Esther (Stephen Hill, Stephanie Lawrence)
19. Evil Haman (The Square Pegs, Choir, Denis Quilley)
20. The King Can't Sleep (The Square Pegs, Stephen Hill)
21. Finale (Haman's the One / Ahasuerus Repents / Esther and Mordecai / Swan Esther) (Full Company)
22. STUDIO REHEARSAL DEMOS: Men are Pigs (Shirlie Roden, Debi Doss, Jackie Marks)
23. Take Away My Crown (Shirlie Roden, Richard Barnes)
24. One Love (Jackie Marks)
25. Country Girl (Jackie Marks)
26. Golden State (Company)
27. Persia is Stable (Jackie Marks, Richard Barnes)
28. Which Way Shall I Turn? (Jackie Marks)
29. The Generation Game (Male Ensemble)
30. One Love (Reprise) (Shirlie Roden, Richard Barnes)
31. BONUS TRACK: Here Stands a Man (performed by Stephanie Lawrence, composed by Shirlie Roden) - How Green Was My Valley (Unproduced Musical)
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

Featuring an upbeat and memorable score by Nick Munns and Jack Edward Oliver, the musical was recorded as a concept album in February 1983 featuring Stephanie Lawrence as Esther, Denis Quilley as Haman and Clive Carter as the minstrel Mordecai. Swan Esther opened for a limited run at London's Young Vic Theatre in December 1983 starring Amanda Redman in the title role.

After undergoing many revisions, the show embarked on a successful UK tour in 1985 produced by Bill Kenwright. Now titled Swan Esther And The King, the new production starred Jackie Marks, Chris Corcoran and Warwick Evans and featured additional songs composed with Shirlie Roden and John Miller.

Swan Esther now debuts on CD featuring the complete 1983 concept album coupled with studio rehearsal demos of the additional songs composed for the touring production Swan Esther And The King.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!