Soundtrack Information

Swashbuckler - Expanded

Swashbuckler - Expanded

Limited Edition of 2,000 Units

Quartet Records (QR424)

Release Date: September 4, 2020

Conducted by John Addison

Format: Digital

Music From

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

Disc 1: Swashbuckler - Expanded
1. SCORE PRESENTATION: Swashbuckler Main Title** 2:53
2. Rescue* 2:24
3. Duelist Dies* 1:49
4. Plunder* 1:13
5. The Coach Robbery (Film Mix) 2:45
6. Foiling Folly* 0:50
7. Torture, Erotica In Waltz Time (Extended Version)** 4:04
8. The Incredible Chase Pursuit** 3:10
9. The Incredible Chase Escape** 2:09
10. Girl Fight / Into The Ocean* 1:32
11. Fencing Lesson 1:28
12. Ned And Jane 0:57
13. Love Theme From Swashbuckler 2:34
14. Nose For Trouble / Life At Stake* 3:07
15. Retreat To The Ship (Film Mix) 2:13
16. Revolution / Into The Forest* 2:52
17. Assault On The Fortress (Film Mix) 3:26
18. Derring-Do! (Film Mix) 2:59
19. The Pickpocket Monkey (Film Mix) 2:11
20. Open The Gates / Prisoners Freed* 2:07
21. End Title, End Cast (Extended Version)** 2:57
22. ADDITIONAL MUSIC: The Lark In The Morning* 2:18
23. The Kid On The Mountain* 1:04
24. The Limerick Lassies* 1:05
25. The Gooseberry Bush* 1:05
26. The Kincora Jig* 1:44
27. Jamaican Drums* 1:31
28. Swashbuckler Main Title (Alternate) 2:55
29. Love Theme (Alternate)** 2:29
  Disc Time: 63:51
Disc 2: Swashbuckler - Expanded
1. ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK ALBUM: Swashbuckler Main Theme 2:47
2. The Coach Robbery 2:43
3. Love Theme 2:33
4. The Fencing Lesson / Ned And Jane 2:13
5. Torture, Erotica In Waltz Time 2:17
6. The Pickpocket Monkey 2:08
7. Retreat To The Ship 2:09
8. Swashbuckler Love Theme Reprise 2:28
9. The Incredible Chase 3:43
10. Swimming Sequence / A New Awareness 1:54
11. Assault On The Fortress 3:21
12. Derring-Do! 2:57
13. End Title, End Cast 2:23
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
* Previously unreleased
** Contains previously unreleased music

Quartet Records, in association with Universal Pictures, Universal Music Special Markets and Geffen Records, is glad to continue celebrating the centenary of the wonderful maestro John Addison, with an expanded, remastered edition in a 2-CD set of his exciting, classic symphonic adventure score for Swashbuckler!

Conceived as an attempt by producer Jennings Lang to return to the classic Hollywood pirate movies of the '40s and '50s, the film was directed by James Goldstone and starred Robert Shaw, James Earl Jones, Genevieve Bujold, Peter Boyle, Beau Bridges and Geoffrey Holder. John Addison's delightful score is a declaration of love for the classic Hollywood adventure music of Steiner, Korngold and Newman, as well as that by his compatriots William Alwyn and Ralph Vaughan Williams. It is an orchestral tour-de-force that features a memorable main theme but also encompasses a fresh and original score full of tunes, motifs, adventure, romance, tension and mystery.

This restored 2-CD set showcases the score as recorded for the film, featuring a selection of alternate cues, as well as the remastered original album prepared by the composer for MCA Records in 1976 (reissued on CD by Intrada Records in 2008), which utilizes different mixes and edits in some cues for a better home listening experience.

The entire collection has been painstakingly remixed, restored, assembled and mastered by Mike Matessino, preserving all the freshness of the original recording. The package includes a 16-page full-color booklet with in-depth liner notes by film music writer John Takis.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!