Soundtrack Information

The Challenge

The Challenge

Limited Edition of 3,000 Units

La-La Land Records (LLLCD 1248)

Release Date: March 26, 2013

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Main Title 4:56
2. The Wrong Sword 3:52
3. Over The Top / Fish Market 5:19
4. Half An Equal 2:55
5. Lonely Road 1:57
6. Let's Talk 2:14
7. Interlude 1:00
8. Can't We Do It? 5:13
9. The Pit 4:48
10. Double Cross / Bamboo Forest 6:18
11. The Traitor 3:28
12. Stay With Me 4:25
13. I Will Go 1:21
14. Surprise Visitor / Forced Entry 2:09
15. No Defense 4:08
16. As You Wish / End Title 5:50
17. End Title (Alternate Take) 5:49
  Total Album Time: 65:42

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

La-La Land Records and CBS present the remastered re-issue of legendary composer Jerry Goldsmith's original score to the 1982 motion picture The Challenge, starring Scott Glenn, Toshiro Mifune and Donna Kei Benz, and directed by John Frankenheimer.

Mr. Goldsmith scored this exciting, modern-day samurai action/drama during what was arguably one of the greatest, most diverse moments of his career. The composer's work here is complex action scoring at its finest.

Produced by MV Gerhard and remastered by James Nelson, this release features spectacular sound and includes the film version of the finale, (the finale track on the previous Prometheus release—found here as a bonus track—was an alternate take, preferred by Goldsmith and placed on that album per his request).

The CD booklet features all-new liner notes by film music writer Jeff Bond, who marks his 50th Goldsmith writing project with this release! This is a Limited Edition of 3000 Units.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!