Soundtrack Information

The Kid Stays In The Picture

The Kid Stays In The Picture

Milan Records (73138-35998-2)

Release Date: 2002

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. What'll I Do
2. Old Hollywood
3. Pack Your Bags
4. "Di-Gue-Ding-Ding" - Michel Legrand Orchestra
5. "Wild World" - Cat Stevens
6. The Detective
7. Ali Comes To Woodland
8. The Sun Also Rises
9. "Sin Titulo" - Chico O'Farrill
10. "Crocodile Rock" - Elton John
11. Polanski / Rosemary's Baby
12. Sinatra
13. The Luckiest Man
14. "Love Is Blue" - Paul Mauriat
15. "Theme from Love Story" - Francis Lai
16. Jews Not Italians
17. The Picture Stinks
18. Woodland
19. "Dirty Work" - Steely Dan
20. Cocaine / Murder
21. Once I Was King
22. I Made My Dash
23. "Machine Gun" - The Commodores
24. "What'll I Do (vocal version)" - Bill Atherton
25. "Love Theme from The Godfather" - Slash
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

Related Albums

Review: Kid Stays In The Picture, The

by Glenn McClanan August 30, 2003
3.5 / 5 Stars

The Kid Stays in the Picture, a documentary about Hollywood mogul Robert Evans, is a well-told yarn about one of Hollywood's most colorful and still artistically respectable characters.  In some ways more effective than the film itself, Jeff Dana's score, combined with a variety of source music, paints a strikingly vivid portrait of the time and place.

For a motion picture, The Kid Stays in the Picture uses surprisingly little motion picture footage.  Instead, it draws mainly on source photos and the vivid narration by Robert Evans, based on his popular autobiography.  We know that he is telling a tale and much has been embellished, but it is so much fun that we don't mind.  The film itself is more of a vehicle for this great story than a superlative work in and of itself.  Honestly, with the dearth of moving images, it feels a little flat, but again, given the compelling subject (the man who made The Godfather and Love Story and Chinatown and many others) it works well enough.

The soundtrack consists of a score by Jeff Danna combined with source music for a variety of sources, such as Cat Stevens, Elton John, and Chico O'Farrill.  When one is watching the film, the music is generally not that noticeable because it is so well-placed and appropriate.  Much of the score feels like it could be from an old Hollywood flick itself.  When listened to separately, it is quite an impressive work.  It perfectly evokes both the time period, mostly '60's and '70's, as well as the cheesy Hollywood feel so important to the film.  On a side note, there is a bonus track, the Love Theme from The Godfather, which adds a nice punch line to the soundtrack. 

The one downside, and this is a weak negative, is that the music is very specific to the subject.  If one has no love for either old Hollywood or Bob Evans, this may not be all that compelling.  But if you are already one who buys soundtracks, you will probably find this of interest.  In conclusion, this is a solid soundtrack that is a true pleasure to listen to.  Having said that, it is geared toward fans of the film and those with a love of old soundtracks themselves.

Soundtrack.Net Articles

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!