Soundtrack Information

The Pleasure Of His Company

The Pleasure Of His Company

Limited Edition of 1,000 Copies

Kritzerland (KR 20025-9)

Release Date: October 24, 2013

Conducted by Alfred Newman

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Prelude / Lullaby in Blue
2. Pogo Poole
3. I Am the Essential Guest*
4. Portraits From the Past
5. Hello Katherine
6. A Tender Reunion
7. Toy's Radio (Hawaiian War Chant)
8. So Little Time
9. Country Club Samba
10. Fisherman's Wharf – San Francisco / The Picnic / The Cable Car
11. Chez Allain
12. Time, the Enemy*
13. For Old Time's Sake*
14. Just Testing (Kitchen Scene)
15. I'm Alone – Parts 1 and 2* / Pogo's Farewell*
16. BONUS TRACKS: Lullaby in Blue (Demo)
17. The Pleasure of His Company* (Demo 1)
18. The Pleasure of His Company* (Demo 2)
19. Wedding Reception*
20. Country Club Dance #1 (“Personality”)
21. Country Club Dance #2 (“Easy Living” and “Lover”)
22. Terrace in the Fog (“That Old Black Magic”)
23. Reception Waltz Medley (“The Champagne Waltz” and “Lover”)
24. That Old Black Magic (Pre-Recording)
25. That Old Black Magic à la Previn (Pre-Recording)
26. Personality (Pre-Recording)
27. Easy Living and Lover Medley (Pre-Recording)
28. The Champagne Waltz and Lover Medley (Pre-Recording)
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

It's hard to imagine a more luscious, melodic, beguiling and captivating romantic comedy score than what Alfred Newman delivered for The Pleasure of His Company. The score gets off to a stunning start with a great Newman theme, "Lullaby in Blue"—a theme that is the cornerstone of the score and will reappear at frequent intervals. The main secondary theme occurs soon thereafter, Newman's Pleasure of His Company theme. There's a wonderful theme for Astaire, a kind of "traveling music" that is infectious and fun. And there are other lovely themes along the way to the happy ending. The score is like a sparkling glass of champagne—sophisticated, lush, witty, tender and pure Newman.

This is the first CD release for The Pleasure of His Company and we present the complete score, the source music, and some demo cues, mostly in stereo from the original session masters housed in the Paramount vaults. A world premiere score release by Alfred Newman is always cause for celebration—so, pop open the champagne and be prepared to be charmed by one of the greatest film composers who ever lived.

This release is limited to 1000 copies.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!