Soundtrack Information

Tokyo Olympiad: 1964

Tokyo Olympiad: 1964

Limited Edition of 500 Copies

Kronos (KRONGOLD020)

Release Date: November 6, 2015

Format: CD

Music By

Purchase Soundtrack

Track Listing

1. Aftermath Of The Bomb 2:58
2. Tokyo Panorama 2:41
3. Tokyo By Night 2:34
4. Before The Games 2:04
5. Freedom Of Motion 1:30
6. Weight Lifter 2:12
7. Fencing 2:24
8. Sailing On The Wind 1:58
9. Boxing 3:50
10. Wrestling 1:24
11. Swimming Lessons 5:57
12. Judo 3:01
13. Athletic Games 3:40
14. Pole Vaulting 1:44
15. Marathon 1:35
16. Final Games 2:26
17. Sad Defeat 2:17
18. Victory March 1:53
19. Olympic Finale 2:16
20. PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED: Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Romantic) 1:16
21. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Marathon - Alt) 1:56
22. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Dramatic) 0:50
23. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Before The Games - Alt) 2:16
24. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Anthem Fantasia) 0:47
25. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Grace) 2:40
26. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Freedom Of Motion - Alt) 1:01
27. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Grace - Alt) 3:07
28. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Interlude I) 0:39
29. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Interlude II) 0:30
30. Le Olimpiadi Di Tokyo (Aftermath Of The Bomb - Alt) 3:13
  Total Album Time: 66:39

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Kronos Records The Gold Collection is very proud to present the soundtrack CD of Kon Ichikawa's Tokyo Olympiad, considered by many to be one of the greatest documentary-films ever done with a musical score that according to many has contributed not little to the cult status of Ichikawa's film.

To score the film Ichikawa chose an old collaborator of his, fellow Japanese artist Toshiro Mayuzumi, with whom he had already worked together on various films. The music is as rich, colourful and varied as the film it was written for. Big dramatic orchestral pieces written to accompany physically hefty sports to lighter more agile motifs written for sports demanding more stamina and elegance than sheer brawn. These beautiful pieces blend in beautifully with the more high spirited jazz tunes for small ensemble that were accompanying the city shots of Tokyo by night and more mundane scenes that make both of the film and score a truly beautiful experience.

We are very proud to present to you the original score in the same order as issued on vinyl in 1966 with an additional 20 minutes of music that are not present on the vinyl version. A big, beautiful, emotional and elegant score.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!