Soundtrack Information

Tours du monde, tours du ciel

Tours du monde, tours du ciel

Limited Edition of 750 Copies

Music Box Records (MBR-140)

Release Date: September 10, 2018

Performed by
Le Traffic Quintet

Format: CD

Music From

Music By

Track Listing

1. TOURS DU MONDE, TOURS DU CIEL: Générique début 0:38
2. Stellaire 1 6:09
3. Stellaire 2 7:46
4. Stellaire 3 2:14
5. Stellaire 4 3:14
6. Générique fin 1:44
7. Saturne 0:19
8. Jupiter 0:18
9. Terre 0:19
10. Mars 0:23
11. Vénus 0:20
12. Mercure 0:28
13. PREMIER QUATUOR À CORDES: Premier mouvement 6:45
14. Deuxième mouvement 4:44
15. Troisième mouvement 6:37
16. Quatrième mouvement 5:19
  Total Album Time: 47:17

Review: From the Manufacturer

by August 27, 2018
0 / 5 Stars

In collaboration with Colette Delerue, Music Box Records proudly presents the remastered CD release of Georges Delerue's original music from the French TV series ]Tours du monde, tours du ciel (1991) directed by Robert Pansard-Besson.

Broadcasted in 1991, ]Tours du monde, tours du ciel is still recognized today as a model of scientific popularization, and was at the time a not-to-be-missed TV program for all amateur astronomers in France: they still vividly remember Georges Delerue's wonderful music. The score, highlighted by the deep tone of the strings of the Orchestre de Paris, displays its melodic and contemplative lyricism in each of the chosen sequences and conveys a fascinating feeling of infinity.

The album also includes the first string quartet (Premier Quatuor à cordes) composed by Georges Delerue in 1948 and performed by the members of the Traffic Quintet under the supervision of composer Alexandre Desplat and the violonist Dominique Lemonnier. It was recorded at Studio Davout in 2010 for Pascal Cuenot's documentary dedicated to the composer (Prelight Films).

Remastered by Christophe Hénault from the original master tapes, ]Tours du monde, tours du ciel features the unreleased main title not included in the previous CD edition. The package includes an 8-page booklet with exclusive liner notes by Florent Groult. The release is limited to 750 units.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!