[Article - SCL Oscar Reception 2004]

A few weeks ago, the Society of Composers and Lyricist hosted their annual reception to honor the Academy Award nominees in the music categories. Held at the home of composer John Cacavas in Beverly Hills, the reception was attended by over 200 people, including composers, the press, Governors of the Academy, and a few surprises! The following music nominees made an appearance: Howard Shore (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Best Score & Best Song), Thomas Newman (Finding Nemo), Fran Walsh (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Best Song), Michael McKean & Annette O'Toole (A Mighty Wind, Best Song), and Benoit Charest (The Triplets of Belleville, Best Song).

Composer Howard Shore and Director Peter Jackson (LOTR: The Return of the King)

In talking with both Howard Shore and director Peter Jackson, a few notable tidbits came out! First off, the anticipated box-set of the soundtracks will be out sometime next year, not this year. Jackson said he was not involved with any "super DVD box set" plans that had been previously rumored, and that for right now, the "Extended Edition" DVDs are the ones to get. Of course, when HD-DVD takes off, the films "might be revisited", but that's a few years off. Apparently, if you bought the Limited Edition soundtrack to The Return of the King and found an autographed photo of Shore and Jackson, hold on to it! They personally autographed 500 photos, and put them randomly into various LE releases! I also asked Jackson about King Kong, and he assured me that the script he is writing right now will be very different from the 1996 draft. So, if you have the older script, hold on to it - it's a collectible!

Songwriters/actors Michael McKean and Annette O'Toole (A Mighty Wind)

Michael McKean informed SoundtrackNet that he will be taking over for Harvey Firestein in "Hairspray" on Broadway. After meeting with composer Marc Shaiman and Firestein, McKean landed the role which will run this summer. Time to plan your trip to New York!

Director Andrew Stanton, Composer Thomas Newman, and Director Lee Unkrich (Finding Nemo)

After milling around for a bit and schmoozing, everyone gathered into the main area where SCL President Dan Foliart presented the nominees to the gathered audience. Group photos were taken, and the nominees continued to mingle with the crowd.

SCL President Dan Foliart with songwiters/actors Annette O'Toole and Michael McKean

Top (L-R): Michael McKean, Fran Walsh, Howard Shore, Charles Bernstein, Dan Foliart, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton, Thomas Newman. Bottom (L-R): Annette O'Toole, Peter Jackson

Film Score Monthly Editor Lukas Kendall with Agent Richard Kraft and Composer Bruce Broughton

Composers Lee Holdridge and Alf Clausen

Congratulations to the nominees, and Howard Shore who won the Academy Award for Best Original Score and Best Song, and Fran Walsh who won with Howard (and Annie Lennox) for Best Song!

Very special thanks to Ray Costa at Costa Communications. Photos by Dan Goldwasser.