[Article - SCL Oscar Reception 2005]

Yesterday the Society of Composers and Lyricist hosted their annual reception to honor the Academy Award nominees in the music categories. Held at the Beverly Hills home of John Cacavas, in attendence to celebrate were many members of the SCL. Composers like Charles Bernstein, Bruce Broughton, Vic Mizzy, John Ottman, Terence Blanchard, and more were on hand to congratulate their peers for their nomination by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Oscar winners Alan and Marilyn Bergman with Oscar Nominee James Newton Howard

Song nominees Andrew Lloyd Webber and Jorge Drexler

Best Song nominee (and top composer) Alan Silvestri ("Believe" from The Polar Express) and his wife Sandra were the first to arrive (they even had a bottle of their new wine with them, but sadly it wasn't brought out as planned), followed by Best Score nominee Jan A.P. Kaczmarek (Finding Neverland) and Best Song nominee Jorge Drexler ("Al Otro Lado Del Río" from The Motorcycle Diaries).

Agent Laura Engel with Nominee John Debney and ASCAP's Nancy Knutsen

Superman Composers John Williams and John Ottman


Shortly thereafter, John Debney (The Passion of the Christ) and James Newton Howard (The Village) joined the reception. Even Andrew Lloyd Webber and Charles Hart ("Learn To Be Lonely" from The Phantom of the Opera) were there, and things got under way when Thomas Newman (Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events) and John Williams (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban) showed up.

Journalists Jon Burlingame and Jeff Bond

Composer Terence Blanchard and SCL Executive Director Laura Dunn

SCL President Dan Foliart was introduced by Charles Bernstein to the crowd, and he in turn introduced the nominees. There was much schmoozing had by all, and as always, the SCL did a fabulous job. In the end, it doesn't really matter who wins tomorrow, because tonight everyone had a great time, and respect and admiration filled the room.

The 2005 Music Nominees

The 2005 Score nominees: James Newton Howard, Thomas Newman, John Debney, Jan A.P. Kaczmarek, and John Williams

The Academy Awards air tonight at 8pm Eastern / 5pm Pacific on ABC.

Very special thanks to Ray Costa at Costa Communications, and Laura Dunn at the SCL. Photos by Dan Goldwasser.