• Fernando Velázquez will be one of the guest composers in the next Tenerife International Film Music Festival

• His music for J. A. Bayona\'s successful film will open the concerts program

The Tenerife International Film Music Festival (Fimucité) is proud to announce that the Spanish composer Fernando Velázquez will open the concerts program in its second edition, which will take place from 23 to 29 June. His music for the film The Orphanage (El Orfanato) has achieved many awards.

Fernando Velázquez will conduct the Tenerife Film Orchestra & Choir and perform his Symphonic Suite for The Orphanage\'s in a World Premiere. Produced by Guillermo del Toro, The Orphanage was the biggest Spanish box-office and the fifth most popular European production in 2007. Released in thirty countries, the success of the Spanish director J. A. Bayona\'s first work has introduced Velázquez\'s memorable music all over the world.

The organization of Fimucité is completing the details of this second edition program in order to make Canary Islands film music World center.

The Tenerife International Film Music Festival, which in its first edition got together composers such as Don Davis (The Matrix), Sean Callery (24), Mychael Danna (Monsoon Wedding), Ángel Illarramendi (Theresa: The Body of Christ) and Diego Navarro (Oscar. The Color of Destiny), will have again the sponsorship of the Island Council (Cabildo de Tenerife) and the Santa Cruz de Tenerife City Council Culture Commission (Organismo Autónomo de Cultura del Ayuntamiento de Santa Cruz de Tenerife).

More about Fernando Velázquez

The 31 year old composer, Fernando Velázquez, has an important career with numerous works recognized by the critic and the public, as the music for the shorts Historia de un búho by J. L Acosta (Best soundtrack in Elche International Festival), El Hombre esponja by J. A. Bayona (Best original soundtrack in Alcalá de Henares Festival), A las 7:35 de la mañana by Nacho Vigalondo (Best soundtrack in Málaga Festival).

Regarding full-lenght films, he has composed the music for titles such as The Birthday by Eugenio Mira, Bosque de sombras by Koldo Serra, El Síndrome de Svensson by Kepa Sojo (Best original soundtrack in Mostra de Valencia 2006), La Zona by Rodrigo Plá, and the coming soon features Eskalofrío by Isidro Ortiz and Sexykiller, morirás por ella by Miguel Martí.