Lakeshore Records will release The D Train Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on May 5 and on CD May 26, 2015. The album features original score by Grammy-winning songwriter Andrew Dost, classic tracks by bands including INXS, The Vapors, Quarterflash, Mr. Mister, and Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD), and the original song "A Million Stars" performed by Andy McCluskey (OMD), Rob Kroehler (Ladylike), Jack Antonoff (fun.) and Andrew Dost (fun.).

"The directors Andrew Mogel and Jarrad Paul, absolutely had a clear vision," said Dost. "They knew right away that they wanted a synthesizer-driven, John Hughes-esque score. We tried a few different ideas anyway - a western, Morricone style sound, for example - but when we landed back on the synthesizers we knew it was the way to go."

"The first scene I did was when Dan is looking through his yearbook, fantasizing about going to the reunion with Oliver," Dost explained. "That one struck me right away as an important moment for the overall tone of the film. It could be funny, it could be ludicrous, it could be sincere; ultimately, it's everything. So I tried to play up the wonder and mystery rather than try to pick on Dan. Jarrad and Andy were really helpful with that type of moment - they're masters of walking a line between funny, hyper-serious, sad, and everywhere in between. Jack Black played Dan with so much depth, I felt something different every time I watched the movie."

The D Train will be released theatrically on May 8, 2015.