Two "Classic Westerns" concerts focusing on western film music will be performed by the Cobb Symphony Orchestra in February, 2002.

Cobb Symphony Orchestra
Steven Byess, conductor
February 23, 2002
Jennie T. Anderson Theatre, Cobb Civic Center, Marietta, Georgia

Cobb Symphony Orchestra
Steven Byess, conductor
February 24, 2002
Grand Theatre, Cartersville, Georgia

Three world premiere suites from western films will be performed on both of these nights. They are:

SMOKE SIGNAL, featuring a rousing score by William Lava, Henry Mancini, and Irving Gertz, from the thoughtful 1955 Universal-International western starring Dana Andrews and Piper Laurie.

THE LAWLESS BREED, an early score by Herman Stein, from the 1952 Universal-International Rock Hudson/Julia Adams western about John Wesley Hardin.

WICHITA TOWN, featuring a library score composed by Hans J. Salter for the 1959 - 1960 TV series starring Joel McCrea.

The program will also include John Barry's DANCES WITH WOLVES, Elmer Bernstein's THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN and TRUE GRIT, Alfred Newman's HOW THE WEST WAS WON, and Dimitri Tiomkin's "A President's Country." Also being performed will be Richard Markowitz's THE WILD WILD WEST, and the concerts will open with a world premiere composition by Eric Alexander entitled "Overture for a New Frontier."

You can get further information from the Cobb Symphony Orchestra web site: Media contact number is (404) 314-3317 and the Anderson Theatre box office is (770) 528-8490.

The music for SMOKE SIGNAL, THE LAWLESS BREED, and WICHITA TOWN has been reconstructed and prepared by Kathleen Mayne of Monstrous Movie Music. Their concert page is located at: