LOS ANGELES - April 30, 2002 - BMI today announced composer Danny Elfman will receive a BMI Award for Outstanding Career Achievement at the performing rights organization's annual Film/TV Awards dinner. The dinner will be held at the Regent Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles Wednesday, May 15. The award will be presented by BMI President & CEO Frances W. Preston and BMI Vice President Film/TV Relations Doreen Ringer Ross.

Elfman will be presented with the Crystal Award, named in honor of pioneering BMI Los Angeles Vice President Richard Kirk. The award is given out annually to the composer who has made significant contributions to the world of Film and TV music. Multi-talented Elfman was chosen for his outstanding work within the genres, both as a composer and songwriter. His scoring credits include "Spider-Man" (which opens May 3), "Men In Black II," "Planet of the Apes," "Proof of Life," "Spy Kids," "Sleepy Hollow," "Family Man," "A Simple Plan," "Good Will Hunting," "Men In Black, " "Mars Attacks!," "Mission: Impossible," "Dead Presidents," "To Die For," "Dolores Claiborne," "Black Beauty," "The Nightmare Before Christmas," "Batman Returns," "Edward Scissorhands," "Batman," "Midnight Run," "Scrooged," "Beetlejuice," "Pee Wee's Big Adventure," "The Simpsons," "Tales From The Crypt," "Alfred Hitchcock Presents," "Amazing Stories," as well as songs for such diverse films as "Ghostbusters 2," "Weird Science" and "Fast Times at Ridgemont High."

He's received a Grammy Award for "Best Instrumental" for "Batman"; received two Academy Award nominations; and a Saturn Award for the "Best Score" for "Nightmare Before Christmas."

More than 500 film and television composers, music publishers, executives and press are expected at the black tie event. The BMI Film/TV Awards recognize the composers of the top grossing films of the year and the highest-rated prime time television shows of the year. BMI established the Richard Kirk Award in 1986 and past winners include John Barry, Charlie Fox, Jerry Goldsmith, Earle Hagen, Michael Kamen, Alan Menken, Thomas Newman, Mike Post, Lalo Schifrin, Richard and Robert Sherman, Alan Silvestri, W.G. "Snuffy" Walden, John Williams, Patrick Williams and Hans Zimmer.