Original Soundtrack Album From Christopher Guest's Folk Music Comedy Film
Coming From DMZ/Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax On Tuesday, April 8

DMZ/Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax will release A Mighty Wind - The Album, the original soundtrack collection of music from the upcoming folk music parody ensemble comedy film directed by Christopher Guest. "A Mighty Wind" opens nationwide on Wednesday, April 16. A Mighty Wind - The Album is in stores on Tuesday, April 8.

An affectionate and incisive homage to the contemporary folk music boom of the early 1960s, "A Mighty Wind" is the latest documentary style comedy from director Christopher Guest (perhaps best-known as Nigel Tufnel in "This Is Spinal Tap," Guest has directed "Best Of Show," "Waiting For Guffman" and others). "A Mighty Wind" is the story of a fictitious 60s folk trio, the Folksmen (played by Christopher Guest, Michael McKean, and Harry Shearer), who are called out of retirement to perform at a memorial concert for the recently deceased folk impresario Irving Steinbloom. Joining the Folksmen at the Steinbloom memorial hootenanny are the equally fictitious and hilarious Mitch & Mickey (Eugene Levy, who cowrote the film with Guest, and Catherine O'Hara) and the New Main Street Singers (David Alan Blasucci, John Michael Higgins, Jane Lynch, Christopher Moynihan, Steve Pandis, Parker Posey, and Patrick Sauber). All the songs on A Mighty Wind - The Album are sung and played by the actors themselves, some of whom learned to play the instruments that can be heard on the tracks.

The music on A Mighty Wind - The Album is an assortment of wry send-ups of various folk groups of the early '60s, doing for that halcyon bygone era what "This Is Spinal Tap" did for heavy metal. Songwriting credits for the album's satirical tracks include Christopher Guest, Michael McKean, Harry Shearer, Eugene Levy, Annette O'Toole, Catherine O'Hara, CJ Vanston (the album's producer), J.M. Higgins, and Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, whose classic "Start Me Up" is skewered by the Folksmen. Available as a CD-Extra on A Mighty Wind - The Album is the exclusive Mitch & Mickey "outtake" performance of "When You're Next To Me," which is not in the film nor available anywhere else.

A Mighty Wind - The Album is the latest release from DMZ Records, a label formed in 2002 by Oscar®-winning filmmakers Joel and Ethan Coen ("Fargo," "O Brother, Where Art Thou?") and multiple Grammy-winning recording artist/producer T Bone Burnett and (O Brother, Where Art Thou?).

T Bone Burnett called DMZ, at the time of its formation, "...a musician-centric label..." going on to promise "We're not going to concentrate solely on traditional American music. We're going to do music that is good, music that will become traditional American music." Burnett added that, among DMZ's plans, the label is "going to be doing quite a few soundtracks. If you're able to put an image with the music, it becomes very powerful There's something that we learned from 'Buena Vista Social Club' and 'O Brother, Where Art Thou?'": the movie theater is a really good radio, a great broadcast medium."