The artists who composed the evocative musical score for the internationally acclaimed Australian film Somersault have led the nominations of the 2004 APRA AGSC SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS.

Music by Sydney electronic outfit Decoder Ring, relative newcomers to the art of screen composition, and a composition by former Go Betweens member Amanda Brown have together brought an exciting new energy and artistry to the soundtrack for Somersault. Decoder Ring created the perfect compliment to Cate Shortland's first feature film and received two nominations for their efforts, Best Soundtrack Album and Best Original Song Composed for a Feature Film, Telemovie, TV Series or Mini Series.

Amanda Brown has also been nominated in two other categories with compositions for the telemovie Floodhouse making her the most nominated individual composer for this year's Screen Music Awards. Christopher Gordon is also nominated four times for his collaborations on Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World and Salem's Lot.

The nominees in the category of Best Feature Film Score include a who's who of Australian screen music including seasoned composers Richard Tognetti, Iva Davies and Christopher Gordon (Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World), David Hirschfelder (The Wannabees) along with Elizabeth Drake (Japanese Story) and David Hobson for the score for One Perfect Day.

The score for Peter Weir's Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World has received two nominations, Best Soundtrack Album and Best Feature Film Score. The trio of Tognetti (the ACO's lead violinist), Iva Davies (longtime singer songwriter for Icehouse) and Gordon (renowned composer for soundtrack score of 'On The Beach') have previously collaborated on "The Ghost of Time", a piece commissioned for the Millenium celebrations in Sydney. With Master and Commander, they achieved a remarkable interpretation of the action/adventure score, producing a combination of 'old world' and 'new world' music.

Golden Globe winner Burkhard Dallwitz dominated music for television with his compositions for Crashburn receiving two nominations, Best Music for a Television Series or Serial and Best Television Theme,

while one time member of Australian band The Models Roger Mason received a nomination for his music for the home-grown (and Emmy nominated series) MDA: Medical Defence Australia.

Along with the soundtracks to Somersault and Master & Commander: The Far Side of the World, Clare Moore and Dave Graney were nominated in the Best Soundtrack Album category for their first foray into the motion picture soundtrack with Bad Eggs. Christopher Gordon's composition for Salem's Lot also received a nomination in this category as well as for Best Music for Mini-Series or Telemovie.

"With a record number of entries this year, the APRA - AGSC SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS is proud to honour the contribution that composers have made in film and television. Excellence is the dominant criteria in assessing these works, and it is such a great honour to receive a nomination in our awards as entries are assessed by our peers. Judging took place in both Sydney and Melbourne again this year by a select group of sought after screen composers. We congratulate all nominees on their achievements and honour their commitment to the art and craft of screen composition", says Art Phillips, President of the Australian Guild of Screen Composers.

Only in its 3rd year the joint 2004 APRA AGSC SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS aims to honour music composers in film and television. The nominees are determined by a judging panel, which includes respected Australian industry figures across music, film and television. Radio and television broadcaster James Valentine will host the 2004 APRA - AGSC SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS with special guest presenters to be announced. An orchestra, conducted by Nerida Tyson-Chew will perform a selection of nominated compositions at the event.

For information on all nominees across 11 categories including compositions for documentaries, short films, mini series, children's television and feature film scores, visit The prestigious APRA International Achievement Award (won last year by Bruce Smeaton) will be announced on the night of the 2004 APRA AGSC SCREEN MUSIC AWARDS.