On Sunday, September 11, 2005, the Creative Arts Emmy Awards for achievement in television will be handed out at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Per annual tradition, earlier this week the Society of Composers and Lyricists held a champaign reception for the music nominees, at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in North Hollywood.

Ray Colcord addresses the gathered crowd

Many folks were on hand to hear SCL president Dan Foliart and Television Academy Governor Ray Colcord speak about the achievements made this past year. Colcord had some very blunt comments regarding music supervisors, much to the amusement of the gathered guests. For a full list of the music nominees, check out our listing.

Nominees and guests mingle at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

SCL President Dan Foliart, Ray Colcord, and SCL Executive Director Laura Dunn

SCL President Dan Foliart and nominee Alf Clausen ("The Simpsons")

Nominee Ian Fraser ("Christmas in Washington") and nominee Bruce Broughton ("Warm Springs")

Ian Fraser and nominee Joel Goldsmith ("Stargate: Atlantis")

Nominee Michael Bolton ("The Tears of the Angels") and Ray Colcord

Dan Foliart and nominee Michael Giacchino ("Lost")

Ian Fraser and nominee W.G. Snuffy Walden ("Huff")

The assembled music nominees

Special thanks to Tom Kidd at Costa Communications