Launched in 2001 by the Flanders International Film Festival-Ghent, the World Soundtrack Academy and Awards have evolved into the major annual event for film music aficionados. This year, the official ceremony followed by a film music concert is scheduled for October 14th, 2006.

The World Soundtrack Awards are distributed annually to mark and celebrate outstanding achievements in music for motion pictures. All winners (except the Public Choice Award) are selected by the World Soundtrack Academy\'s 200-plus members and its advisory board. Amongst the members of the Academy we find world renowned composers such as Angelo Badalamenti, Patrick Doyle, Elliot Goldenthal, Howard Shore, John Williams, Hans Zimmer, Stephen Warbeck and Mike Stoller. Many of them have visited the World Soundtrack Awards ceremony over the past years.

Last year\'s edition of the World Soundtrack Awards (15 October 2005) was once again unforgettable. Several prominent guests such as British composer Rachel Portman (Emma, The Cider House Rules, Smoke, Chocolat) and Argentinian composer Gustavo Santaolalla (Brokeback Mountain, Collateral) featured at a memorable concert performed by the Flemish Radio Orchestra. The main prize that evening was given to Angelo Badalamenti who was honoured as Soundtrack Composer of the Year for Un long dimanche de fiançailles. The Award for Best Original Soundtrack of the Year went to John Williams and his score for War of the Worlds. Special guest Mike Stoller, part of the legendary composers\' duo Leiber & Stoller, received a Lifetime Achievement Award for the rich career he shared with Jerry Leiber.

But the World Soundtrack Academy is more than just the presentation of the Awards. On December 2nd, the World Soundtrack Academy organised the film music concert Music of the Image at the 2005 European Film Awards in Berlin. Each year the Academy organises the film music seminar for composers, directors, producers and above all students of film and music composition. The World Soundtrack Academy also develops initiatives that are aimed at offering a strong platform to emerging film music talent in Europe. For that reason, the academy organizes the composing competition for young Belgian composers, which will have its fifth edition in 2006. Candidates are invited to compose a piece of music for the silent movie Le Fauteuil Vivant (1907), which could be either a classic composition or an electronic score. The winner will be announced at the 2006 WSA ceremony and given a cash prize of EUR 2,500. In addition, the winning composition will be performed by the Flemish Radio Orchestra at the WSA night.

For more information on the World Soundtrack Awards and the 2006 program, please visit

6th World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony - 14 October 2006
presented by the Flanders International Film Festival-Ghent -