Soundtrack Information

The Missouri Breaks

The Missouri Breaks

Limited Edition of 1,200 Copies

Release Date: August 12, 2013

Conducted by John Williams

Format: CD

Music By

Rate This Soundtrack

Click stars to rate.

Purchasing Links

External Links

Track Listing

1. Main Title
2. Logan's Entrance
3. Logan and Calvin Talk (Unused)
4. The Train Robbery
5. After the Trial / The Hanging Foreman / Riding the Horse
6. Boys Will Play
7. Clayton at the Wake (Unused)
8. Crossing the River
9. Clayton's Binoculars
10. Logan and Jane
11. The Cabbage Patch
12. The Mounties Attack / Lee Chases Tod
13. The Drowning of Tod
14. News of Tod
15. The Rustling Sequence
16. Si and Cary
17. Calvin
18. End Titles
19. BONUS TRACKS: Unused Cue 1-3
20. Organ Cue 4-2
21. Banjo and Harmonica Cue 11-3
22. Fiddle Cue 11-3A
23. Harmonica Cue 13-2

Disc 2: The Original Album Re-Recording
1. Main Title
2. Arrival of the Rustlers
3. Love Theme from The Missouri Breaks
4. The Train Robbery
5. Bizarre Wake
6. Celebration
7. Confrontation
8. Love Theme (Reprise)
9. Crossing the Missouri
10. The Chase
11. Remembrances
12. The Horse Rustlers
13. Love Theme (End Title)
Track lengths not available for this album. If you have track length/time information for this album, please e-mail it to us at and we will add it to the database.

From the Manufacturer

John Williams had already done big, brash, outdoorsy Americana before with The Reivers and The Cowboys. But The Missouri Breaks wasn't big and brash, and so required a different kind of score–smaller in scale, but one that would capture the characters and the drama as well as the period and the feel of the film. And, of course, Williams delivered a perfect score (albeit atypical for him during this period), mostly composed for guitars, harmonica, percussion, and a handful of other instruments.

Williams never wants for coming up with an instantly memorable and beautiful theme and The Missouri Breaks has a beauty in its love theme–never overused, always right. His main title music sets the mood with tense bass notes, and off-kilter harmonica and guitar–it's wonderfully evocative and haunting. There are up-tempo infectious cues and cues for Brando that are really off-kilter. It's Williams doing what he did (and still does) better than anyone, and it's a score that's completely unique to him.

There was an LP release at the time of the film–that was a re-recording, and Williams, as he did frequently, arranged the music differently than the film, to work as a cohesive thirty-six minute album. That LP release was issued on CD, first by Ryko, who added three bonus tracks from the original film cues–the first time those had been heard outside the film (although, interestingly, those three cues contained no music that wasn't in the re-recording)–and then by Varese Sarabande, which was a virtual clone of the Ryko CD.

For this CD release, we are really pleased to present all of the original film tracks for the very first time–their world premiere release–from the original superb-sounding session masters. It's leaner and meaner than the re-recording, and a completely different listening experience. A handful of cues went unused in the film itself, but we've included everything for this release. We also are including the original LP presentation but we've gone back to the original album masters so we could be at the original source for the best possible sound. So, here, at long last, is the complete original soundtrack cues for The Missouri Breaks. They've been a long time coming, but we hope you'll find they've been worth the wait.

This release is limited to 1200 copies only.

There is currently no review for this soundtrack.
If you are interested in contributing one, please contact us.


E-mail Newsletter

Enter your e-mail address to receive weekly soundtrack and film score news:

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!