Soundtrack Information

Adieu poulet / L'ami de Vincent / L'etoile du Nord

Adieu poulet / L'ami de Vincent / L'etoile du Nord

Limited Edition of 500 Units

Music Box Records (MBR-191)

Release Date: September 15, 2021

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. DIEU POULET: Generique 1:06
2. Proxetisme et corruption 2:23
3. Jazz trio (Ferrer le poisson) 3:07
4. Les Poulets a l'hopital 2:40
5. Generique de fin 2:23
6. L'AMI DE VINCENT: Vincent 4:18
7. Amalia 4:50
8. Revue Broadway 4:41
9. Revue bresilienne (Samba multicolore) 4:38
10. Tango parisien (The dansant) 2:57
11. L'ÉTOILE DU NORD: L'étoile du Nord 2:08
12. Louise 2:07
13. Edouard 2:13
14. Pour Simone 1:46
15. Pour Pierre 1:13
16. Yasmina 1:46
17. Pour Philippe 2:24
18. Les tramways de Charleroi 1:04
  Total Album Time: 47:44

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

In collaboration with BMG and Gruppo Sugar, Music Box Records proudly presents on the same album three original motion picture soundtracks which highlight the collaboration between composer Philippe Sarde and Pierre Granier-Deferre: Adieu poulet (The French Detective, 1975), L'Ami de Vincent (A Friend of Vincent, 1983) and L'Étoile du Nord (The North Star, 1982).

Pierre Granier-Deferre was undoubtedly one of Sarde's favourite and most faithful collaborators, one of his first "fathers in cinema", in the same way as Claude Sautet, Georges Lautner or Bertrand Tavernier. This new album highlights three scores from the fruitful collaboration between the composer and the French director. The short score to crime thriller Adieu poulet (orchestrated by Hubert Rostaing) showcases his ability to capture the film's core with his dissonant and jazz soundscape which includes piano, trumpet, drums and assorted percussion. For the psychological drama L'Étoile du Nord, Sarde composed a melancholic score that gives a central role to Marcel Azzola's accordion with a melody that sounds like a popular café-concert tune. For L'Ami de Vincent, Sarde added the lyrical touch to his score associated with the powerful performance of the London Symphony Orchestra (conducted by Peter Knight) and the incomparable American trumpeter Clark Terry.

The program has been assembled, produced and supervised by Philippe Sarde and Édouard Dubois. This present edition has been fully remastered from complete scoring session elements and includes previously unreleased tracks. The CD comes with a 12-page booklet with liner notes by Christian Lauliac, discussing the films and the scores. The release is limited to 500 units.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!