Soundtrack Information

An American Tail - Expanded

An American Tail - Expanded

Intrada (Special Collection Vol. 423)

Release Date: February 12, 2019

Conducted by James Horner

Performed by
London Symphony Orchestra

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

1. Main Title 5:13
2. The Cossack Cats 2:21
3. Dissolve To Sea/Lullaby** 1:03
4. There Are No Cats In America* (Nehemiah Persoff, John Guarnieri and Warren Hays) 3:03
5. The Storm 4:02
6. Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor 2:50
7. Never Say Never* (Christopher Plummer and Phillip Glasser) 2:28
8. Warren T. Rat/It Will Go Away** 4:11
9. Train Trestle** 2:00
10. The Market Place 3:06
11. The Rumble 1:56
12. Honest John And Gussie Mausheimer** 3:03
13. Somewhere Out There* (Phillip Glasser and Betsy Cathcart) 2:46
14. Building The Mouse Of Minsk 2:52
15. Down In The Sewer/Chase In The Mauler's Den** 1:36
16. Gussie's Plan** 2:10
17. A Duo* (Dom DeLuise and Phillip Glasser) 2:41
18. Fievel's Escape** 3:17
19. Releasing The Secret Weapon 3:42
20. The Great Fire 2:59
21. Reunited 4:49
22. Flying Away And End Credits 6:03
23. Somewhere Out There* (Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram) 4:04
24. THE EXTRAS: Poor Wandering One (Gilbert and Sullivan)** 0:59
25. The Rally (Source)** 1:12
26. Somewhere Out There (Instrumental)*/** 4:01
  Total Album Time: 78:27

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Track Listing Legend:
*Music by James Horner and Barry Mann; Lyrics by Cynthia Weil
**Previously unreleased

Intrada continues its examination of the animated scores of James Horner with this new expanded edition of the 1986 soundtrack to An American Tail, a joint effort between Don Bluth's Sullivan Bluth Studios and Steven Spielberg's Amblin Entertainment, and Horner's first full-length animation effort. The score follows Horner's soon-to-be-Oscar-nominated score for Aliens. Whereas Aliens was a dark, mysterious, exciting and often scary work, An American Tail was a mouse of an entirely different color. Tail spanned two animated continents, giving Horner an epic tapestry for which he weaved a colorful and beautiful score, steeped in rich themes and excitement. Throughout, songs help the story along, spawning the hit, "Somewhere Out There," sung by Linda Ronstadt and the very recently, dearly departed James Ingram. It's one of the finest scores Horner composed, among a body of work that is filled with stunning beauty.

The original album released by MCA at the time of the film's release in late '86 was 50 minutes in length, paired down from an original 65-minute program Horner had prepared. For this release on Intrada, producer Mike Matessino has remastered and expanded this benchmark in animated film scoring for the first time, working from Eric Tomlinson's original mixes, allowing the score to shine like the true jewel that it is.

Special thank you goes to Universal Pictures, Universal Music Group, Amblin Entertainment and the Horner estate for making this release possible.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!