Soundtrack Information

Basic Instinct - Expanded

Basic Instinct - Expanded

Limited Edition of 2,000 Units

Quartet Records

Release Date: October 21, 2015

Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith

Performed by
The National Philharmonic Orchestra

Format: CD

Music By

Track Listing

Disc 1: The Film Score
1. Main Title / The First Victim 3:45
2. Catherine and Roxy 5:17
3. Shadows / Profile 1:30
4. I Don't Smoke 2:48
5. Crossed Legs 4:53
6. Beth and Nick 2:24
7. Night Life 6:04
8. Home Visit 1:12
9. Your Wife Knew 1:48
10. What's Between You? 0:55
11. One Shot 1:28
12. Kitchen Help 4:02
13. Pillow Talk 5:04
14. Morning After 2:32
15. Roxy Loses 3:39
16. Catherine's Sorrow 2:44
17. Wrong Name 2:24
18. She's Really Sick 1:33
19. It Won't Sell 1:06
20. The Games Are Over 5:53
21. Evidence 1:44
22. An Unending Story / End Titles 9:08
  Disc Time: 71:53
Disc 2: 1992 Album
1. Main Title (Theme from Basic Instinct) 2:15
2. Crossed Legs 4:53
3. Night Life 6:04
4. Kitchen Help 3:59
5. Pillow Talk 5:01
6. Morning After 2:31
7. The Games Are Over 5:39
8. Catherine's Sorrow 2:43
9. Roxy Loses 3:18
10. An Unending Story 7:58
11. BONUS TRACKS: The First Victim (R rated alternate) 1:37
12. Beth and Nick (R rated alternate) 2:13
13. Pillow Talk (R rated alternate) 4:51
14. That's Real Music 0:27
  Disc Time:
Total Album Time:

Related Albums

From the Manufacturer

Quartet Records and Studio Canal are proud to present the ultimate 2-CD set of Jerry Goldsmith's Academy Award nominated noir score for Paul Verhoeven's classic erotic thriller Basic Instinct.

Jerry Goldsmith composed one of his most famous and iconic scores—atmospheric and sensual, elegantly orchestrated, with a memorable main theme reminiscent of Bernard Herrmann.

At the time of the film's premiere, Varèse Sarabande issued a fabulous 45-minutes CD produced by Goldsmith himself—a masterful presentation of the score's highlights. Ten years later, Prometheus Records released an expanded version, with much of the music presented in film order, but still missing a pivotal moment and several alternate takes.

Now, 23 years later, Quartet Records has finally done justice to this Goldsmith masterpiece. This new release includes all of the music recorded for the film, with correct edits, actual track titles, "An Unending Story" as heard in the film, and alternate takes recorded by Goldsmith for the shorter R-rated version of the film. Also included is the original album produced by the composer, featuring some slightly shorter cues and an alternate ending. All of the music was recorded in London with Goldsmith conducting The National Philharmonic Orchestra.

Both film score and album version have been entirely remixed and remastered from the original digital multi-track tapes by original scoring mixer Bruce Botnick for this edition—the score has, quite simply, never sounded better! Produced by Neil S. Bulk and Bruce Botnick, the album includes in-depth liner notes from film music writer Daniel Schweiger in a lavishly designed 24-page full-color booklet.

Missing Information?

If any information appears to be missing from this page, contact us and let us know!